Dell Mini 10v Mac OS X Discussion Discussion dedicated to installing and setting up Mac OS X on the Dell Mini 1011

(#1) Old
Default Time Machine Restore = Boot0: Error - 01-26-2010, 09:24 PM

So, I'm testing out various scenarios for this wonderfully new Hackintosh idea, so I decided to "destroy" my setup last night. With a solid Time Machine backup on a second partition, I changed permissions on the system folder, effectively trashing the install. I then followed these steps:

1. Booted off USB Install "DVD" which was created with NBI 0.8.3 Final.
2. At the install screen, I chose "Restore from Time Machine backup" and chose the appropriate backup.
3. I left things alone and came back when it was done to reboot.

Here's the problem: I'm now stuck with a "Boot0: Error" message. Since I'm still new to Hackintosh concept, I need to know if I made some small error which is easily remedied, or if Time Machine is a no-go in the first place. If I have to start the TM restore process over and do it "right" this time, I'm happy to. If I have to install from scratch, that's fine too, but I'd like to know if that means TM is not an option for backing up a Hackintosh.

And yes, the above 3 steps are exactly what I did. Nothing else at all.

Thanks in advance for any help.

PS I also appear to be unable to boot from the USB drive as well. The "boot0: error" flashes up immediately after the POST screen and I never see the USB drive selection screen. I guess the drive could be corrupted and require a new Install DVD image setup, but I'm not sure how that would have happened. Legacy USb Support is on and the USB drive is listed as the first device.
  (#2) Old
Expert Member
Default 01-27-2010, 03:05 AM