Dell Mini 1018 Forum for discussion on the refreshed Dell Mini 1018, released Q3 2010.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
jkristian jkristian is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: California, USA
Default External VGA resolution - 05-23-2011, 05:14 PM

What's the maximum resolution supported by the external VGA port on the Mini 1018? Is it an Intel GMA 3150, like the Mini 1012? I'd like to use a 1920x1200 display, but I fear the 1018 won't do it.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
rrfranczak3's Avatar
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 05-23-2011, 05:40 PM

I think you were already told in your other post that the GMA3150 will not drive anymore than 1400x1050....I think that the 1012 and 1018 both have the GMA3150 dont they?

Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
tommytwin tommytwin is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2011
Default 05-24-2011, 07:47 AM


I just got my new 1018 yesterday, and it works fine hooked up to a 24" 1920x1080 monitor.

The GMA 3150 even works to power both the Dell display and the external monitor at the same time, which something like 2,688,000 pixels (1024x600 + 1920x1080).

The review of the GMA3150 has conflicting information, at one point it says it will support only 1400x1050, but elsewhere it says 1920x1080 on the external vga connector. It's capbale of 1920x1080, but apparently not officially supported.

The 3150 has to work a lot harder to push all those pixels, and things like smooth scrolling in firefox is a little slower, but it's not big deal. Also, hd youtube is less smooth. Too bad there's no ion2 option for the minis.

Reply With Quote

« HD Display??? | Newbie question and introducing,,, »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016