Dell Mini 1012 Discussion forum on the new 2010 Dell Mini 1012, featuring an Intel Atom N450 CPU.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
fdalbor fdalbor is offline
Senior Member
fdalbor's Avatar
Posts: 319
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Default 1028X768 on Win 7 1012 - 04-25-2010, 04:29 PM

I have had a 1010 for the past year and am pretty pleased with it. One of the things it does that keeps me happy is (using XP) it allows 1028X768 resolution (also 800X576 and 1028X576) which allows me to run most software. This is using the standard 1028X576 screen not the HD screen.
I have been looking at the 1012 and the price is pretty good but I would like to know if (using XP or Win7) does it allow the 1028X768 resolution with the standard 1028X600 screen.
For what I would pay for Win7 I would just as well spend and extra 175 and get the 1012 instead of upgrading my 1010 to Win7. But again only if I can get the 1028X768 resolution which a great deal of software requires to work properly.
The performance difference between the 1010 and the 1012 is not enough to warrant the difference if I have to get the HD screen to get 1028X768 resolution.
If not then I will pass on the 1012 and wait until a higher performance mini is released. So far I am not impressed with the options for the 1012. fdalbor

---------- Post added at 04:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:23 PM ----------

Sorry I meant 1024X768. fdalbor

Dell Mini 1010 XP--10.04/Mandriva One/Joli 1.2
Compaq R4000 laptop AMD 64
Compaq SR2034NX AMD 64
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
theoldwizard1 theoldwizard1 is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Join Date: May 2010
Default 05-06-2010, 06:08 PM

You can order a 1012 with the Broadcom Crystal HD video card and it will come with a 1366x768 display. It will also include a 250GB HDD, Bluetooth and a 6 cell battery pack pushing the price to over $400.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
kilolima kilolima is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2010
Default 05-20-2010, 12:56 AM

I have the same question. I have a 1012 and would like to set it to a 1024x768 resolution but can't find any options in win 7 to allow it. I thought it was possible in most netbooks to do so and then scroll the screen up and down?


Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
gaster gaster is offline
Posts: 51
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 05-20-2010, 03:38 AM

The trick for 1024 x 768 and scrolling in XP does not work in Win 7.
There is a registry hack for Win 7 that gives you the option of 1024 x 768 and even the next step up, but it is ugly. It works by just not diplaying some of the vertical lines. As i said, very ugly. I am posting from my phone, later i will find a link about this for you.
Anyway the bottom line is that XP and scrolling is much better for this than Win 7, at least for now.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
gaster gaster is offline
Posts: 51
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 05-20-2010, 11:41 AM

Here is how you can get a higher resolution in win 7 starter:

1) Run regedit
2) Search and modify all values "Display1_DownScalingSupported" from "0" to "1"
3) Restart the system
4) Enjoy with the two new resolutions 1024x768 i 1152x86

But it will look bad in my opinion
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
kilolima kilolima is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2010
Default 05-24-2010, 04:22 AM

Hey Gaster, thanks a lot for the help!

Maybe I will should put windows xp on instead... have you found any sort of battery life difference between the two?
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
rrfranczak3's Avatar
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 05-24-2010, 02:39 PM

in most opinions Win 7 gets better battery life and certainly runs faster than Win XP, you should have spent the extra bucks and gotten the HD screen to start can still look around and upgrade the screen if you want...thats the only way to get better resolution, mine looks great with 1333x768

Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
Tomc Tomc is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default 05-26-2010, 03:23 PM

I'm removing Win7 and installing XP on my 1012 non-hd screen. I can't exaclty place what it is, the resolution of course is 1024x600. But in win7 everything is so 'large' compared to WinXP on my MSIWind at the very same resolution? I can't use it and it's not what I'm used to, so XP it is. My Wind with 6-cells gets 5+ hours and I would expect the same from my Mini w/6-cells, maybe a bit more since the processor is less power-hungry. Mind you I'm not complaining but pointing out that win7 starter on a netbook isn't as nice as XP. At a delivered price of less than $245 with 6-cell and 250gb hdrv I can live with XP. Oh, and Jolicloud dual-boot. Or maybe even UNR. Haven't decided on which one yet.
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
kilolima kilolima is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2010
Default 05-27-2010, 03:39 PM

I upgraded to win 7 home, and it works fine so far for all my needs. Although I've used linux for years, about a year ago I gave up trying to get it to work with laptops.

Since I picked this 1012 up for $240 from the outlet there was no better resolution available. But maybe I'll do one of those upgrade kits... or maybe that pixel qi vaporware will finally deliver.
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
kopredite kopredite is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default 06-06-2010, 06:38 PM

Hi have a dell 1012 mini. Its says it has a 1024x600 wsvga screen. Is this classed as high definition? Just want to check as some places say it is.
Reply With Quote

« Bad "G" key | 1012 Startup Problem »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016