Dell Mini 1010 Forum for all discussion and support on the first revision of the Dell Mini 10, the Dell Inspiron Mini 1010.

(#1) Old
Question overheating and clicking :( - 03-08-2010, 11:52 AM

Hi all, I just want to know if there is anything I can do to stop this laptop getting so hot when I use it. I am a student and therefore have it on for long periods of time whilst writing endless essays. It has also recently started clicking every now and again and I'm getting worried and saving my work every few seconds just in case it dies. I have only been using it since October, is this normal?
  (#2) Old
Default 03-08-2010, 01:06 PM

In order to manage heat:

Using the Mini on a hard, level surface (like a table or lap desk) should help.

You could also point a small desk fan at the Mini.

You can try to reduce the amount of running software (more software running = more processor and hard drive use = more heat). But unless your system is really gummed up, I don't think this'll make a difference.

As for the clicking, I think the only moving part in the Mini 10 is the hard drive. So, it's probably responsible for the noise. It's possible the clicking is preceding failure, but it's also normal for hard drives to click sometimes.

Is the clicking associated with drive access? Is it associated with idle periods? Adjusting the drive's APM or AAM setting can affect the amount of noise it makes.

As for saving your files frequently, it is always a good idea to backup important files to multiple locations/drives. A $10 flash drive should have enough space to hold backup copies of a lifetime of essays.

Mini 9 | Intel 5100 Wifi | Ubuntu 10.04 Netbook
Mini 1012 | SSD | Intel 6200 Wifi | Ubuntu 11.10 64bit
  (#3) Old
Default 03-08-2010, 01:54 PM

you can use coretemp or any program to monitoring the temperature, then you'll be sure how "hot" is your mini 10.
  (#4) Old
Super Moderator