Dell Mini 1010 Forum for all discussion and support on the first revision of the Dell Mini 10, the Dell Inspiron Mini 1010.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#31) Old
Member
 
yeewiz's Avatar
 
Posts: 71
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Francisco
Default 12-29-2009, 04:54 PM

Pixar, nice work! Waiting for your pictures of the install. Thanks


Bob

Mini 1010 | Windows 7 Home Premium clean install over factory installed XP | 1GB RAM | 160GB drive | 1024x600 screen | Bluetooth | 1.3MP webcam | 6-cell battery | TV tuner
Reply With Quote
  (#32) Old
Member
 
Posts: 69
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Arrow Modified 2 gig D/B For the Mini 10 (1010) - 12-29-2009, 10:26 PM

This Is how I Modified a 2 gig M/B that a friend sent to me to try out.
I will try and place some picture's so you get the idea.
I am sure that Dell should have a board that fits right into the slot.
Not sure why we can not get them yet.

Anyways, Step one: Follow the Video Instructions on how to add ram
to the 1011 (mini 10v) up to the part on video 2 about a 1/4 way through
until you get to the Mother Board and see the Daughter Board to the
Lower front right side. (note) there are only 2 silver screws to remove
to take out the black casing over the top of the M/B not 3 like on the 10V Video.

Step two:
Remove the cover (4 screws) on top of the Daughter Board
Remove the Daughter Board
See the size difference in the pictures

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3366.JPG
Views:	257
Size:	148.3 KB
ID:	2650 Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3369.JPG
Views:	238
Size:	184.3 KB
ID:	2651 Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3371.JPG
Views:	207
Size:	169.5 KB
ID:	2652

Step three:
You will have to notch out the New 2 gig DB on the lower left corner
to fit over the raised stand-off of the threads.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3376.JPG
Views:	187
Size:	254.0 KB
ID:	2653 Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3377.JPG
Views:	171
Size:	113.3 KB
ID:	2654

Step four: Grind the raised head of the lower left stand-off and
put piece your favorite sticky tape over that stand-off, the DB will
now just lay and that stand-off and have protection.
NOTE:: After the small grinding make sure you blow off the tiny particles
make sure they do not get all over the Mother Board , Or cover as much of the board as you can.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3381.JPG
Views:	158
Size:	137.5 KB
ID:	2655 Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3383.JPG
Views:	156
Size:	112.8 KB
ID:	2656
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3384.JPG
Views:	147
Size:	140.2 KB
ID:	2657

Step five: make sure you move the heat sink tape up a little to match
the CPU Chip on the DB.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3386.JPG
Views:	146
Size:	173.4 KB
ID:	2659 Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3385.JPG
Views:	149
Size:	181.8 KB
ID:	2658

Step six: Now take a pair of pliers and raise the right side over hang
of the aluminum cover, and cut of the lower right corner as well
so that the hole right side of the top plate will lay flat on the DB.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3380.JPG
Views:	138
Size:	173.9 KB
ID:	2660 Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3387.JPG
Views:	133
Size:	186.6 KB
ID:	2661

Step seven: Now put it all back together! :-)
The extra gig seems to be just about right.

I also used my high powered scope and the ram IS surfaced mounted
to the board on both sides. even though I change out SM parts like that all day
at work with a very expensive piece of equipment I can not do this at work

I hope this helps someone in the future!
I also am looking for another DB for my wifes as well to modify hers one day!

Jeff


(2) Dell Mini 10's, Alpine White,2GB RAM, Product Red, 1GB RAM, 500GB Drive (both), TV Tuner, Bluetooth, 1.3MP Camera, 1366x768 High Def Screen, 6 cell Battery, Windows 7 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  (#33) Old
Junior Member
 
Posts: 26
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Default 01-04-2010, 08:11 AM

I'll be checking with my L2's tomorrow on it, but while working with someone else on the boards here in order to get a quote made, I think I stumbled upon the 2GB daughterboard for the mini 10/1010.

If it does indeed turn out to the the correct part, I think you'll be shocked at the price, let alone there's no modding that needs to be done inorder to get it installed.

I'll be hoping that I'm correct and we can all enjoy some cheap & easy upgrades, ..I've already got the installation instructions put together.

On the other hand, if I'm wrong, sorry for the false hope :-p


Dell ProSupport Technician 2004-Present
Reply With Quote
  (#34) Old
Member
 
Posts: 69
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Thumbs up 01-04-2010, 09:12 AM

Awesome! Good Luck! and keep in touch!


(2) Dell Mini 10's, Alpine White,2GB RAM, Product Red, 1GB RAM, 500GB Drive (both), TV Tuner, Bluetooth, 1.3MP Camera, 1366x768 High Def Screen, 6 cell Battery, Windows 7 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  (#35) Old
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default 01-14-2010, 10:48 PM

I'm pretty upset about this too, I was under the impression i would be able to upgrade to 2gb after purchase.
It appears that you can only get the ubuntu version with 2gb but it does not allow for the GPS option...

I guess I'll just wait and see if i can get a 2gb DB.
Would it then be possible, since the cpu is on the DB, to get a faster cpu and ram when they come out or will they change the board too much?
Reply With Quote
  (#36) Old
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,903
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 01-14-2010, 11:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uisgdlyast View Post
I'm pretty upset about this too, I was under the impression i would be able to upgrade to 2gb after purchase.
It appears that you can only get the ubuntu version with 2gb but it does not allow for the GPS option...

I guess I'll just wait and see if i can get a 2gb DB.
Would it then be possible, since the cpu is on the DB, to get a faster cpu and ram when they come out or will they change the board too much?
well, nobody really knows about the cost yet, but I dont think that you will be able to change the processor it will be either the z520 or the z530, maybe if you have the z520 you can get the z530, but thats about it, those of us with the z530 already are stuck, I dont think anyone with a z530 would downgrade to a z520, and a z540 really wouldnt be worth it, the z530 runs at 1.6 and the z540 I think runs at 1.66, really not worth it...

PS: Welcome to the forum..


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#37) Old
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default 01-15-2010, 06:34 PM

I can tell you for a fact that the 2GB DB (with Z530 processor) is £80. Although I have managed to get it direct from Dell for £60 as the first technician got the price wrong before we got cut off, so when I got back through to someone they honoured the original price quoted. It wasn't until I got the new DB that I realised the holes were wrong, so after contacting Dell again and finding that a different motherboard would be another £80 I decided to be brave and follow Pixars instructions. £60 is still expensive for a 1GB upgrade, but much better than £140. For some reason I have to send back my original DB to Dell, but then it isn't much use to me. Very relieved when my mini booted and found the new memory, thanks Pixar!
Reply With Quote
  (#38) Old
Member
 
Posts: 69
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Default 01-15-2010, 07:14 PM

Your welcome. so how much in US is £80 ?? $120.00 ???
As I need a second D/B for my wife's Mini.


(2) Dell Mini 10's, Alpine White,2GB RAM, Product Red, 1GB RAM, 500GB Drive (both), TV Tuner, Bluetooth, 1.3MP Camera, 1366x768 High Def Screen, 6 cell Battery, Windows 7 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  (#39) Old
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default 01-16-2010, 03:29 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pixar View Post
Your welcome. so how much in US is £80 ?? $120.00 ???
As I need a second D/B for my wife's Mini.
Yes, please tell us if you can order these and how well they work. I missed my 21 day return policy, which sucks. The people who do dell support are clueless to a lot of stuff, no offense cause I know some of you are tech support but I've had them tell me you can/can't upgrade ram on the 10/10v or that you can only use copilot with the GPS...

It really isnt that bad of a deal, a 2gb ram stick is like 40-60$, probably more in a store.

Do you know if the 2gb DB will work with the GPS? I'm assuming thats not part of the board. The more I think about it I should have gotten the ubuntu 2gb without gps and got a gps USB stick since dells gps doesnt support windows 7 yet

Before I go tearing it open I'll make a lite version of XP, I plan on making one with all the drivers and low processor programs installed so I can share it with other people facing the same problem
Reply With Quote
  (#40) Old
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default 01-18-2010, 09:30 AM

I think it is about $130, which is expensive for 1G but as I got mine for about $100 it wasn't quite so bad.

And of course over two hours of phone calls to convince Dell that they do want to sell me the DB (I had been on the phone so long that I wasn't going to give in!). The item number on the invoice is 682-19817.

I don't have GPS in my mini, but I can't see why it wouldn't work as that is another plug in module.

I have installed Windows7 on my mini, and it is definitely worth all the effort to upgrade the memory as it now handles Win7 very nicely (Win7 uses about 750M just to run) and it will handle 720p HD video and all the apps I through at it no problem!
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Externals HDD USB 3.0 in dell mini | Wireless driver won't work »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Copyright © 2008-2011 MyDellMini.com.