Dell Mini 1010 Forum for all discussion and support on the first revision of the Dell Mini 10, the Dell Inspiron Mini 1010.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#21) Old
Pixar Pixar is offline
Member
 
Posts: 70
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Default 12-02-2009, 09:03 AM

shagpal, yud da man! thanks!
that would be great!


(2) Dell Mini 10's, Alpine White,2GB RAM, Product Red, 1GB RAM, 500GB Drive (both), TV Tuner, Bluetooth, 1.3MP Camera, 1366x768 High Def Screen, 6 cell Battery, Windows 7 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  (#22) Old
Thorsteenster Thorsteenster is offline
Expert Member
 
Posts: 510
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 12-02-2009, 05:26 PM

Yeah, probably be good to get the 2GB numbers, maybe compare them. If I get a chance this weekend I'll take mine apart and get a decent pic.


C:\M11xR2\320GBHD\4GBRAM\W7HP
D:\duo\320GBHD\2GBRAM\W8DP
Reply With Quote
  (#23) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 12-03-2009, 11:21 PM

the z520 & z530 processors will not recognize more than 2gb....I might be wrong...maybe its the bios but I think its the processor..


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#24) Old
bowserb bowserb is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default 12-06-2009, 05:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by k000 View Post
I hate Dell for not having the 2GB version available from the beginning... waste of money now
+1 on that. I could hardly believe it when I realized this box could not be upgraded. Customizing and upgrading are just about the only things that set Dell apart from Acer and the various house brands. Add to it the ever-declining QC at Dell, and you start to wonder how the company will remain in business. I've got four Dells--two desktops and two laptops. The newer desktop and the monitor that came with it (XPS430/WFP2208) have been plagued with problems from the day they arrived. The newer laptop is the 1010.

On the plus side, Dell had drivers for the 1010 and Windows 7 before the official release date for W7. I will not forgive them for this locked in 1GB netbook, though.
Reply With Quote
  (#25) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 12-06-2009, 06:11 PM

I remember reading somewhere that it was Micro**it that had limited the 1gb maximum, so I guess Dell figured it would be more cost effective to solder the memory as where it really didnt matter..


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#26) Old
bowserb bowserb is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default 12-06-2009, 06:20 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrfranczak3 View Post
I remember reading somewhere that it was Micro**it that had limited the 1gb maximum, so I guess Dell figured it would be more cost effective to solder the memory as where it really didnt matter..
Intel made 64-bit processors for a long time when there was virtually no 64-bit OS support, or 64-bit XP and no compatible software. Earlier the USB was on computers before you could use it with Windows (remember "useless serial bus"?).

If Microsoft put a 1GB limit on current XP licensing, that doesn't mean Dell had to make the hardware non-upgradeable. No. Dell is not off the hook on this one.
Reply With Quote
  (#27) Old
Irrenarzt Irrenarzt is offline
Member
 
Irrenarzt's Avatar
 
Posts: 42
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default 12-11-2009, 04:35 AM

I've had the 1010 completely apart, including the daughterboard. No way anyone is getting 2 gigs in there without some serious solder work. I'd just wait til a 2 GB daughterboard becomes available.


Mini10V | 10.6.5 (all works fine) | N280 1.66 GHz | 2 GB RAM | 320GB/7200 RPM WD Black HD | 1510 N WLAN | BT 2.1 | 6 cell battery | Magic Mouse

Mini 10 Bone Stock XP no mods for Beersmith/mkv2vob/some light porn use
Reply With Quote
  (#28) Old
Pixar Pixar is offline
Member
 
Posts: 70
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Talking Installed 2 gigs of Ram--- Na Na Boo Boo! (mini 10) - 12-28-2009, 10:05 PM

The part Number for the ONE GIG Daughter Board is KIUIO LS-4764-P rev 2
The part Number for the TWO GIG Daughter Board is KIUIO LS-4766-P rev 1

I got this board from a person that had one, not sure if you
can get it from Dell Yet,

I have installed it and it works great! I have pictures of my modified
install, I will post them soon! ( if I am allowed or I can?)
There is no need for any type of soldering.

There is one must a dremal tool with a sand drum wheel and a routor bit.
You will see after I post the pictures. the install should only take about
an hour or so maybe less now that you will have some pictures to go by!

Stand By!

Jeff


(2) Dell Mini 10's, Alpine White,2GB RAM, Product Red, 1GB RAM, 500GB Drive (both), TV Tuner, Bluetooth, 1.3MP Camera, 1366x768 High Def Screen, 6 cell Battery, Windows 7 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  (#29) Old
yeewiz yeewiz is offline
Member
 
yeewiz's Avatar
 
Posts: 71
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Francisco
Default 12-28-2009, 11:41 PM

what are you looking at to be sure the OS recognizes the extra memory?


Bob

Mini 1010 | Windows 7 Home Premium clean install over factory installed XP | 1GB RAM | 160GB drive | 1024x600 screen | Bluetooth | 1.3MP webcam | 6-cell battery | TV tuner
Reply With Quote
  (#30) Old
Pixar Pixar is offline
Member
 
Posts: 70
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Default 12-29-2009, 12:06 AM

I am looking at the bios !
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3388.JPG
Views:	119
Size:	133.2 KB
ID:	2640
Better fix that system date as well.


(2) Dell Mini 10's, Alpine White,2GB RAM, Product Red, 1GB RAM, 500GB Drive (both), TV Tuner, Bluetooth, 1.3MP Camera, 1366x768 High Def Screen, 6 cell Battery, Windows 7 Pro.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Windows 7 drivers for Dell Mini 10 (1010) | Newly Upgraded Daugterboard having issues »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.