Dell Mini 1010 Forum for all discussion and support on the first revision of the Dell Mini 10, the Dell Inspiron Mini 1010.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Senior Member
 
sammyboy405's Avatar
 
Posts: 112
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mustang, Oklahoma
Send a message via ICQ to sammyboy405 Send a message via AIM to sammyboy405 Send a message via MSN to sammyboy405 Send a message via Yahoo to sammyboy405
Default Mini 10(1010) Can NEVER have more than 1Gig of Ram. Heres why. - 08-03-2009, 07:28 AM

So in doing some research on the GMA500 Chipset. I ran across an Interesting read. And in it, I discovered why the Dell Mini 10(1010) had its RAM solder in place and fixed at 1Gig.

The GMA500 / ATOM Processor Combination can only use a MAX of 1Gig of Ram.

Here are my reference links for proof on this.

Notebookcheck: Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 500 (GMA 500)

And if you Want Hardcore Proof..
http://download.intel.com/design/chi...brf/319545.pdf

Now right now if you compare the GMA 950 with the GMA 500 the 500 has way better specs than the 950. But if you look at the Benchmarks on the 950 it runs circles around the 500. This is because of bad driver support for the 500.

Also it appears that Intel did not Design the 500, a company called ImgTek did. The 500 made its first appearance in several models of Pocket PC's about 1 1/2 years ago.

If you notice the soldered in 1gig also holds true for the Dell Mini 12. So there you have it. The proof is in the Pudding. There is No Possible way to have more than 1Gig of ram on any net-book that has a GMA500.

However, here his a tip for those running Windows 7 or Vista on there net-book.

Buy a cheap 2gig or more SD Card and turn on Ready-boost. Keep in mind this only helps speed up your Virtual Ram. And will only allow for Applications to Open Faster. This will not help with any video Issues.

Sorry for the Bad news for those that might think there would be a Hack one day to install more RAM into the 1010 or Mini 12. Would be Impossible to do seeing now that the GMA500 will not allow for more than 1gig.

I can deal with the 1gig as I knew what I was getting into when I bought my 1010. But I could deal with it alot better if the Drivers where 100% working.


Dell Mini 10 (1010) - Kubuntu 9.04 / Windows 7 / Ubuntu 9.04 / Fedora 11 / CentOS 5 / More to Try Later
Do You have GMA 500 Graphics? Want to run Ubuntu 9.04 Here is a Link on How-To and get the best FrameRate possible and the correct Resolution.
Visit my Blog Via Plasma Burn More Updates coming soon to the blog.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
Junior Member
 
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Default 08-03-2009, 12:01 PM

Sorry I disagree. The US15W chipset can handle up to 2GB memory, information which is contained in your second link. When this chipset was first released it was outlined as supporting a max of 1GB, however Intel revised the specification in March 2009 to state that memory up to 2GB was supported.

This is consistent with the Dell blog where they have suggested that a 2GB option will be available for the Mini 10 in the future, although no date has been given.


mini 10 (via UK Dell outlet), Z520, 1024x576 , 6-cell, no BT
ordered & installed: BT module, US keyboard
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Member
 
Posts: 98
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default 08-03-2009, 04:53 PM

I am new here, just got Mini 10 with 1 GB RAM and 32 GB SSD drive.

I still have to read around here, but hasn't anyone yet tried upgrading the RAM to 2 GB ?
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Senior Member
 
sammyboy405's Avatar
 
Posts: 112
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mustang, Oklahoma
Send a message via ICQ to sammyboy405 Send a message via AIM to sammyboy405 Send a message via MSN to sammyboy405 Send a message via Yahoo to sammyboy405
Default 08-03-2009, 05:35 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tx123 View Post
Sorry I disagree. The US15W chipset can handle up to 2GB memory, information which is contained in your second link. When this chipset was first released it was outlined as supporting a max of 1GB, however Intel revised the specification in March 2009 to state that memory up to 2GB was supported.

This is consistent with the Dell blog where they have suggested that a 2GB option will be available for the Mini 10 in the future, although no date has been given.

You are Correct.. However.. Its up to Dell now to Support the 2gig. As for the 1010 you would need a complete new daughter-board and a Bios upgrade before that would be remotely possible.

Once the New Mini 10 Is available. Maybe there will be a hack or upgrade current 1010 users can do to support this.

The intentions of the post which it was late when I wrote it, but Prior to March 09, GMA500 was Fixed at 1gig. Prior to that it was Fixed at 512 in previous chipsets. But as of right now you could be a master solderer, and put more RAM in and I can pretty well guarantee that the 1010 will not see it, with out a bios hack/upgrade. Dell was Narrow minded when they designed the 1010 and put the 1010 with Fixed specifications. I will look though the Firmware later this week and pull the max allowance the bios allows for on the 1010. I may eat my words but from everything ive read I dont think I will be.. But if I do, I will be Emailing a ton of websites saying they are wrong. I think its the ASUS A10? that also has the GMA500 and they just recently with a BIOS upgrade where allowed to upgrade the Ram. The Sony Viao netbook is in the same book Sony fixed it at 1gig and Soldered the Ram to the board. however, the Sony put an expander slot to the mainboard for "future" improvements in later models. So that would allow a Sony user to be able to find a part on Ebay later, and upgrade their existing Sony.

Anyways let me tear open the 1010 A05 Firmware this week and see what the magic there allows for. Im still thinking Intel may allow for it, But I bet the 1010 Bios Firmware will not.


Dell Mini 10 (1010) - Kubuntu 9.04 / Windows 7 / Ubuntu 9.04 / Fedora 11 / CentOS 5 / More to Try Later
Do You have GMA 500 Graphics? Want to run Ubuntu 9.04 Here is a Link on How-To and get the best FrameRate possible and the correct Resolution.
Visit my Blog Via Plasma Burn More Updates coming soon to the blog.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Senior Member
 
sammyboy405's Avatar
 
Posts: 112
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mustang, Oklahoma
Send a message via ICQ to sammyboy405 Send a message via AIM to sammyboy405 Send a message via MSN to sammyboy405 Send a message via Yahoo to sammyboy405
Default 08-03-2009, 05:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by k000 View Post
I am new here, just got Mini 10 with 1 GB RAM and 32 GB SSD drive.

I still have to read around here, but hasn't anyone yet tried upgrading the RAM to 2 GB ?
Nope Pretty well Next to Impossible. 2 things would need to happen.

1. Dell allow for 2gig in the 1010 Firmware
2. You would need to be a Master Solderer and be able to Solder Multilayer. The Ram Sits is on 2 layers on the fiberboard.

Or

Dell Release a New Mini 10 with the GMA500, with 2gig Option, then you maybe able to get a BIOS update, and Purchase the New Daughter Board.


Dell Mini 10 (1010) - Kubuntu 9.04 / Windows 7 / Ubuntu 9.04 / Fedora 11 / CentOS 5 / More to Try Later
Do You have GMA 500 Graphics? Want to run Ubuntu 9.04 Here is a Link on How-To and get the best FrameRate possible and the correct Resolution.
Visit my Blog Via Plasma Burn More Updates coming soon to the blog.
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default 2gb memory in 1010 - 10-21-2011, 03:19 AM

So according to my service tag, I have a 1010 (not a 1011 - 10v).
The machine has 2gb of memory.
Can someone explain?
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Super Moderator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,081
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 10-21-2011, 12:27 PM

Dell did sell a 2 GB configuration of the 1010.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 8.1
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,904
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 10-21-2011, 01:57 PM

the 1010 was later available with 2gb but only with Ubuntu....not Windows, that is due to the limitation that MS put on Windows XP only being allowed 1gb that is why most of the netbooks you see for sale mostly have only 1gb installed, now.... there is NO firmware upgrade needed, there is NO soldering needed also, what is needed is a replacement of the daughterboard, the cost used to be extremely high (I got a price from Dell for over $550) for the daughterboard, I have a place a California that will sell the 2gb daughterboard for the 1010 for $169 shipped, I have done it to mine and now am running 2gb with Windows 7 and my machine is definitely faster than with 1gb and I am happy I did it, I also have a few apps that had some trouble running properly that now run fine, anyone interested in upgrading their 1010 from 1gb to 2gb PM me for info....

@Randy Bryant, your machine probably was originally configured with Ubuntu when new that is why it has 2gb in it (if you research the service tag number through Dell it will give your the ORIGINAL cofiguration),BTW: I had thought about doing exactly that, just buy the system with Ubuntu,. reformat the drive and load windows and *poof* you now have a 2gb Windows system, but the time had passed where I could return mine to do this so I was stuck, at least up until recently where I found the 2gb daughterboard for what I think is a great price


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case

Last edited by rrfranczak3; 10-21-2011 at 02:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default 01-08-2012, 06:24 PM

Hi,
I tried to PM you but I don't have high enough post count
I'm also interested in where you got the 2gb daughterboard! Also, do you know if the 1010 screen can be upgraded to the HD version; and if so, which side the connector is on? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,904
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 01-08-2012, 06:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidsmoke View Post
Hi,
I tried to PM you but I don't have high enough post count
I'm also interested in where you got the 2gb daughterboard! Also, do you know if the 1010 screen can be upgraded to the HD version; and if so, which side the connector is on? Thanks!
here you go:

link:
http://www.bigestock.com/detail.php?part=536359

when you call hit #1 for sales then ext.101 for Daniel, mention my name 'Rich' and part number 'R031P' and you will get the better price...its $169 shipped (USD), if you are out of the USA it may be more..I wouldnt suggest ordering it online without speaking to Daniel, you will only get the special price if you mention my name

as far as the screen goes it should be upgradeable if you can find it, I ordered mine completely maxed out when I bought it so I dont know about replacements, I spent more up front than most, but didnt have to end up looking for upgrade parts either......Good Luck..


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gma500, impossible, ram, stuck, upgrade

« Mini 10 won't turn on, ac adapter light flashes | Need some help getting it running »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Copyright © 2008-2011 MyDellMini.com.