Dell Inspiron Duo Forum for discussion on the netbook/tablet hybrid by Dell, the Inspiron Duo.

(#1) Old
Question Dell Duo as Touchscreen Jukebox ??? - 06-13-2011, 03:52 PM

Hello all, I am new to this forum, have spent quite some time reading the many threads.

I am from Australia and am contemplating purchasing this Inspiron Duo with the Docking station. Its not sold here locally so I would have to import or purchase from Ebay.

My aim is to cradle the Duo to the docking station and use the 3.5mm rear external audio out port to feed a pair of standalone powered speakers. Audioengine A5's. Am I correct in assuming this is feasable?

My second question more importantly is as follows:
I have no experience with netbooks so therefore I cant determine whether or not the CPU on this Duo has the grunt for what I require.
My aim is to drop approx 100 gig of correctly tagged MP3's onto the HDD and using Windows Media Center for playback. I prefer Windows Media Center over all other software I have tried. I select Music, then Sort by ALBUM ARTIST. For me it is simply unbeatable. I currently use a Dell Studio 1555 Laptop for this music playback and find it has quite enough power to do this.
My worry is that the Netbook CPU might struggle.

Can someone please comment hopefully with experience on this as I am struggling to find the answers I need.
Thanks in advance for any replies and keep up the good work on this forum all.

Last edited by robnkel; 06-13-2011 at 03:56 PM. Reason: spelling
  (#2) Old
Default Twaek - 06-13-2011, 06:59 PM

The Dell Duo should and could do what you want it to do but I would recommend an SSD drive (I know, I know, they cost the earth). Why? Well.. the machine will have it's main bottleneck removed...

Quick Tweaking guide

The above ENSURES that you get the most performance out of the Duo.

If you don't fancy an SSD, I'd still go for a few tweaks here and there.
  (#3) Old
Expert Member
Default 06-13-2011, 11:18 PM