Dell Inspiron Duo Forum for discussion on the netbook/tablet hybrid by Dell, the Inspiron Duo.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
ppyoung ppyoung is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default upgrade ram in DUO - 04-05-2011, 01:10 AM

Is it possible to upgrade the ram in the duo
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
cms cms is offline
Member
 
cms's Avatar
 
Posts: 89
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cape Canaveral
Default 04-05-2011, 03:06 PM

Yes and no,

The RAM already in the Duo is as much as the DUO can use effectively.

From what I remember, the chipset in the DUO has a max of 2gb ddr3 per slot; since there is only one slot in the DUO, the ram is maxed as it is. There would be no real gain from changing RAM.

CMS


My Dell Duo Tips Blog: http://cmediastudio.wordpress.com/ca...-inspiron-duo/
Solder-mod'er from the eeeuser forums.
Inspiron duo - Win7 ult x64 - Linux Simul. OS
EEE 1000he - 2.1ghz OC - 12hr battery
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Sleeping_Panda Sleeping_Panda is offline
Junior Member
 
Sleeping_Panda's Avatar
 
Posts: 28
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Richland, WA
Default 04-05-2011, 04:36 PM

The Atom chip by design is maxed out by 2gig of RAM, but, you might try using ReadyBoost if you are really needing RAM.



Caveat - ask yourself if you really NEED the RAM or is it just a case of 'more RAM = win!" concept telling you that you should add RAM now before you need it :-) I am definitely a believer in the more is better school of RAM, but with the DUO I am trying instead to stress efficiency rather than muscle.


To configure the Ready Boost Feature in Windows 7 you need to have a High Speed Flash/USB or Pendrive with you which is ready boost compatible. After plugging in the thumb drive, open “Computer” > Right-click the on thumb drive > select the “Ready Boost” tab > tick the “Use this device” checkbox. Although you can configure how much space on your USB drive to be used as RAM, I'd suggest you dedicate a small drive to RAM - I have a 4gig stick just for this purpose. Basically, ReadyBoost uses your flash drive as RAM thereby improving Win7 performance.

((this paragraph is edited/paraphrased from this site - atrocious grammar, but good information - Speed up Windows 7 with 26 Tweaks))


Sleeping_Panda

Inspiron 1090 (Duo) since 2/23/11
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Optiplex 760; Latitude D630; Latitude D830; Latitude E6410 (and this is just at work)
Technical Support & Training Technician
@ a DOE National Laboratory
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
ppyoung ppyoung is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default 04-05-2011, 09:07 PM

Thanks for the info, tried it but did'nt see much differance.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Sleeping_Panda Sleeping_Panda is offline
Junior Member
 
Sleeping_Panda's Avatar
 
Posts: 28
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Richland, WA
Default RAM issue - 04-05-2011, 10:45 PM

What are you trying to accomplish that is bogging down due to what you are thinking are RAM issues? Certain program, or multitasking? Might be some other things to do to free up some resources


Sleeping_Panda

Inspiron 1090 (Duo) since 2/23/11
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Optiplex 760; Latitude D630; Latitude D830; Latitude E6410 (and this is just at work)
Technical Support & Training Technician
@ a DOE National Laboratory
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
nganto nganto is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default 11-30-2012, 02:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ppyoung View Post
Thanks for the info, tried it but did'nt see much differance.
tried to replace with 4GB memory chip today, but failed. i guess 2GB is the maximum size.

thankfully, 2GB is sufficient for light usage.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Dell Duo and 4GB RAM | different performance for differnt duo's... »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.