Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Default inspirion mini 9, mini 12, or hp mini 1000 - 11-17-2008, 09:55 PM

Hey guys, Im new to the netbook revoolution and have a mainstreem laptop. i want to get a netbook. It needs to be able to have a dvdrw or cdrw external dirve that is powered via usb and it needs to be fast and good. it sould be nice to see some comparison pictures. I will mostly be using it for watching movies, listening to music through itunes, email, internet, and word/excel/powerpoint. which would be best for the money. I can get an education discount so, just tell em the price with the discount. also, battery life is a big thing for me, so it needs to have at least 4hrs with wifi off and screen adjusted. Let me know the price and basic accessories I should get. also, why sjould I pick a certain one? Which is thinner and has what ports? I know this is a mini forum so the suggestions will most likely be biased towards the mini series, but be honest... Also, for the money, would it be smarter to just get a refurbished XPS m1330 for about $600-700? Thanks, Tuna
  (#2) Old

Default Re: inspirion mini 9, mini 12, or hp mini 1000 - 11-17-2008, 10:26 PM

You will never see me buying a mini 12. The ram is hard wired in and can't be upgraded. I love my mini 9 and you can buy new, previously ordered units in the dell outlet for ~400 bucks. I would get a system with 512 ram, but 16gb ssd, then upgrade to 2gb ram on your own(took 3 minutes).

I don't care for HP products, so I won't comment on them. I have had a few experiences that have left a bad taste in my mouth.
  (#3) Old

Default Re: inspirion mini 9, mini 12, or hp mini 1000 - 11-17-2008, 10:40 PM