Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
eugenedental eugenedental is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default Hello all. Just got my runcore 32gb - 06-10-2009, 04:16 AM

HELLO, ALL. i'm new to posting, but i've been
reading the forums for upgrade ideas for a while now.
i've finally decided to go with the upgrade since i couldn't stand
running linux since i was so new to it.
so i purchased 2gb ram and 32 gb ssd from runcore. and hooked it up with
vista home premium. without using vlite. after all installations and updates,
it takes around a minute for it to load to a fully functional state, but once that is done i'm really pleased that the mini can handle windows aero while im playing movies, and still running amazingly fast. i just love it.
i still have about 16gb remaining in the ssd, with avg, zoom player, firefox,
i'm wandering if i could install office 2007 on a 16gb sd card that i use. can anyone help?


thanks


WHITE MINI9
2GB RAM
32GB RUNCORE SSD
INTERNAL BLUETOOTH
WINDOWS VISTA HOME PREMIUM SP1
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
MoInSTL MoInSTL is offline
Super Moderator
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Posts: 605
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Send a message via AIM to MoInSTL Send a message via MSN to MoInSTL Send a message via Yahoo to MoInSTL
Default 06-10-2009, 03:57 PM

Welcome to the forum!

You could try Open Office Portable and see how well that runs first.
OpenOffice.org Portable | PortableApps.com - Portable software for USB drives
My guess is MS Office is going to be very slow.

Edit: A search turned up mixed results on MS Office, especially Outlook. I suggest trying a heavily edited custom install.


Studio 15 1558| Black Chainlink| i5-520M, |4GB RAM |500 GB HD@7200 |ATI HD 4570, 512K|Backlit|9 Cell|Web Cam|Windows 7 Professional x64
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
eugenedental eugenedental is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default 06-10-2009, 05:24 PM

thanks for the warm welcome
and thanks for the advice. i'll find out about it and see.


WHITE MINI9
2GB RAM
32GB RUNCORE SSD
INTERNAL BLUETOOTH
WINDOWS VISTA HOME PREMIUM SP1
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
BKR2879 BKR2879 is offline
Senior Member
 
BKR2879's Avatar
 
Posts: 133
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Default 06-12-2009, 11:55 PM

If you want an even better experience with it, install the RC1 of Windows 7 on it.

It's amazing how well it works.

Vista just pales in comparison.


DELL Vostro 1720 - 2.4Ghz - 4GB - 500GB - Windows 7
DELL XPS M1330 - 2.4Ghz - 4GB - 500GB - Windows 7
DELL Vostro A90 - 2GB - 64GB SSD - OSX
.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Fallstar Fallstar is offline
Senior Member
 
Fallstar's Avatar
 
Posts: 384
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Default 06-15-2009, 04:49 AM

Hi and welcome to the forum! I'm running Vista Home Premium on my Mini (32 GB Runcore and 2 GB RAM). I don't use all the apps in Office 2007, so I installed only Word 2007. It's been running fine. Keep in mind, there have been a LOT of windows updates for Office 2007, which tends to eat away space on the drive.
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Heed Heed is offline
Senior Member
 
Heed's Avatar
 
Posts: 141
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default 06-16-2009, 06:27 AM

To install Office 2007 tot eh SD card just change the install directory on installation. The option is hidden on a tab at the install menu.

I'm running it on my mini 9 (I don't use outlook) and it's fine. Word opens quickly and is very responsive in use.


Everything's Blue, Everything's Blue In This World, All Fuzzy, Spilling Out Of My Head.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Couple of questions... | question about standard bundled software mini9 »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.