Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Default New Girl with a New Mini 9!! Few questions! - 04-21-2009, 08:04 AM

Hey guys! First I want to say this site is awesome.. I have learned so much! I just got my previously ordered new outlet Mini 9 yesterday. I want to change the SSD and the RAM. This is my first project taking a computer apart and not just taking it to the geek squad at Best Buy But powered with youtube and you guys I'm sure I can do it.

I have an 8GB with 512 MB. I want to change this to 32/64GB and 2GB of RAM. I don't think it runs that slowly out of the box..but I have done nothing but browse the internet so far... :lol: My full size baby is an XPS 1330 so I want to get it as close to a mobile one of these as I can. I would like to use Vista which is why I think I need the 64GB (please let me know if that is incorrect), I want to put MS Office on it, iTunes, and my picture editor. Is 32GB going to be enough to run these at a decent speed? I also want to add the bluetooth dongle.

This is what I have so far on my "to get" list
I see the Runcore 32GB SSD that you guys rave about is sold out.. I saw one on ebay by Supertalent for $90..is that a good SSD and a good deal?
2GB Ram looks to be about $28 everywhere
And the $3 bluetooth dongle from ebay

Is this a good list? Sorry for all the newbie questions! Feel free to point me in the right direction; I want to order the stuff ASAP as I am on vacation this week and I have plenty of time to start upgrading...

Off to read some more!

Thanks guys!
  (#2) Old
Guru

Default Re: New Girl with a New Mini 9!! Few questions! - 04-21-2009, 08:42 AM

Welcome.