Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Default Newbie here and Wireless internet help - 03-31-2009, 08:52 PM

Just got the mini 9 and have never used wireless internet before. I have dial up at home and I am looking for a cheap way to get the wireless internet to work at home. There are no wifi hotspots where I live and am looking into what my options are. Am I going to have to pay over $60.00 a month from a cell company like Alltel? Has anyone addressed this issue here before. I like using the mini 9 at school where the have wireless internet, but don't want to spend all day there. Any advice would be appreciated. Also anyone have any good resources on exact information on using the mini 9. I am really new at this and it takes me forever to dig through more experienced users topics. Are there any good beginners websites that you recommend? Thanks in advance!
  (#2) Old

Default Re: Newbie here and Wireless internet help - 03-31-2009, 10:33 PM

where do you live? you can usually check out the cable/internet companies in your area and see what they charge. my housemates and i are paying about $34/mo for our hispeed internet (no cable tv, no phone service). and i think there are cheaper prices for slower hispeed plans. just call your company up and see what rates they have. and if money is tight on your end, ask them if you can downgrade even lower than the base package. after that, you'll need to get a wireless router and get that set up for your home. but that can be tackled once you've actually got service set up in your home.
as for exact information on using the mini 9, that all depends on what you want to do with it. i honestly have to say that this forum is a great source of information (just do a search for anything you want info on at the top of the forum page) and the questions usually get answered pretty quickly just ask away!

-- edit --