Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Default Cannot decide between the Mini 9 vs. the Mini 12 - 03-18-2009, 05:52 PM

I'm getting ready to purchase a Mini, and I'm having trouble deciding which one would be best for me. I intend to use it as a mobile 'classroom' of sorts - I'm enrolled in online classes at a local college and I need to be able to work both offline and online with the Mini while traveling. Some instant messaging would be nice but it's not absolutely necessary. I'm not looking to use it for anything like gaming or mass storage of files, or anything similar.

I've read extensively about both the 9 and 12, and I'm unable to come to a decision based on several factors:

- I like the idea of the SSD in the 9, but from what I understand, there are limited write-cycles using this format, as well as slower write speeds (unless it's based on DRAM - I'm not technically advanced enough to know whether or not the Mini is indeed based on DRAM or not, maybe one of you would know better than I?). I don't like the possibility of this thing crapping out on me in a year, as I'm going to need it for at least the remainder of my classes (at least 2 years' worth).

- Both the 9 and 12 state "no broadband option". Could someone explain to me a bit more about how I would be able to access the Internet using said models? This is absolutely vital for me to consider purchasing the Mini of any flavor.

- I have read that the keyboard is impossibly small on the 9 (I have rather largish fingers), but that the Mini 12 actually boots slower than the 9 does. I have also read that Bluetooth is not an option on the 12, while it is on the 9 (which makes no sense to me whatsoever).