Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Default Hi all- netbook for student - 02-19-2009, 02:18 PM

I'm glad to have found this forum. I'm considering a netbook and Dell has always been my favorite manufacturer of computers, so it's a dell mini for me. This looks like a great place to ask questions and find which is the best fit for me.

I'm a student, biology major, returning to college this summer. I can type faster that I can write and tend to be a bit absent minded about where I put things- there's something very tragic about creating a great set of notes only to loose them days later. So typing notes during lectures is the way to go for me. I want a small laptop, thus a netbook because the desks are so small, it's nice to have room for a small notebook for drawing diagrams as well.

I went to Staples and tested the keyboard of an HP 8.9 netbook and it seems fine, fast typing with minimal errors. I have small hands and long fingers, so I don't think a small keyboard will be a problem.

So now I just have to decide whether to get an Mini 9 or wait to see what the Mini 10 looks like. I'll probably wait until the 27th since it's only about a week away- just to get a good comparison. But I'm definitely leaning toward getting a barebones Mini 9 off ebay and customizing/upgrading it myself.

In the meantime, I'll be asking advice here, so thanks for having me,

Jessica
  (#2) Old

Default Re: Hi all- netbook for student - 02-19-2009, 02:29 PM