Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Default Dell Mini and OneNote - 02-03-2009, 02:00 AM

Hi guys,

I'm very new to the Dell Mini. I realize it's a "netbook," but I'm wondering if it's something I can use at university, specifically while using OneNote.

- So firstly, can the Dell Mini support OneNote (without getting overburdened)?

- Just as importantly, I don't believe the Dell Mini comes with a CD drive, so how do I install new software such as OneNote?

That's all for now. Thanks for all your help over here.

-potato
  (#2) Old

Default Re: Dell Mini and OneNote - 02-03-2009, 02:06 AM

I upgraded the RAM on my mini9 to 2GB. I have MS Office 2007 installed and all components work fine under Win XP, including OneNote.

White Mini 9 with 2 GB RAM and 64 GB RunCore SSD running Win7 RC1
  (#3) Old

Default Re: Dell Mini and OneNote - 02-03-2009, 02:08 AM

Pardon my ignorance, but how would one go about installing the software for OneNote? Would I have to purchase the software pre-installed, or is there a way to install it at a later time?
  (#4) Old

Default Re: Dell Mini and OneNote - 02-03-2009, 02:18 AM

If you have access to another computer, you can share its CD drive over the network and install onto the Mini. That's how I installed Office.

Mini 9|Obsidian Black|2GB RAM|16GB SSD|1.3MP|XP Pro!
  (#5) Old

Default Re: Dell Mini and OneNote - 02-03-2009, 02:27 AM

:shock: That sounds amazing. Thank you for the information.

One extra question - Is it possible to upgrade to 2GB RAM through a Dell website purchase? I did a quick customization for a Dell Mini 9 (starting price $349) and was not given a 2GB RAM upgrade option (only up to 1GB in this case).
  (#6) Old

Default Re: Dell Mini and OneNote - 02-03-2009, 02:45 AM