Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Default Backup and restore to new SSD - 01-26-2009, 04:13 PM

I'm new to the mini 9 community. I will be upgrading to the 32gb SSD from the original 8gb. Can you guys share your experience and the best method to backup/copy from the original to the new drive? And what software you recommend to accomplish this. (Preferably free). I do have an external USB hard drive. Thanks.
  (#2) Old
Administrator

Default Re: Backup and restore to new SSD - 01-26-2009, 04:42 PM

Trial version of Acronis True Image is what most people are using.

Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
  (#3) Old

Default Re: Backup and restore to new SSD - 01-26-2009, 08:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by holmes4
Trial version of Acronis True Image is what most people are using.
I used Acronis True Image with BartPE after someone here advised me to try it and it worked great.
  (#4) Old

Default Re: Backup and restore to new SSD - 01-26-2009, 08:41 PM

Thanks. Can you guys outline the process for me, as I've never did this. Or is it self explainitory from the software?
  (#5) Old

Default Re: Backup and restore to new SSD - 01-26-2009, 09:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sneakersteve
Thanks. Can you guys outline the process for me, as I've never did this. Or is it self explainitory from the software?
This is a good question for folks like us that have never done this. I did download the Acronis Manual but am still fuzzy with some of the options that one needs to select when cloning. I have watched Mat's video over and over but it is hard to see which ones he is selecting when he demonstrates this. Would appreciate any help we could get on this. The clone begins on page 104 of the Acronis Manual. Sorry, but us newbie folks need to learn to. ops:
  (#6) Old

Default Re: Backup and restore to new SSD - 01-26-2009, 09:51 PM