Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
AustinUlster AustinUlster is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default No Cable Connection - 01-02-2012, 10:54 AM

Can anyone help with advice about cable broadband connection?

With help of Steve's advice my mini is now up and running except one thing - nothing happen when I plug in my ethernet cable for net access. Broadcom 802.11g fitted and it seems to work OK wirelessly (limited opportunity to test as I don't have wireless), as it also does when I plug in my G/F's 3G dongle. The cable works fine with my desktop.

I have tried endless permutations of internet settings & also run the original Virgin set-up disc which hits error 00.01.1E.003E 'broadband setup could not renew the IP adress for your network adapter (DHCP)'. It's set to find IP address automatically.

Finally gave up and called Virgin. A nice Indian lady told me to switch off the modem and restart but needless to say(?) I'd already done that 50 times. Was then passed to a lady with a Glaswegian accent who didn't profess to have any understanding of 'technical stuff' (Virgin's technical support line !!??) but after consultation with someone I wasn't allowed to speak to said they needed to do something with my modem (configure open ports?) but they weren't touching it unless I signed up to a six month service contract at 10 a month (or if I liked I could shell out 60 up front).

Would be most grateful if someone could
(a) tell me if there's a way I can sort this out myself - my guess is it's probably really simple if you know how?
(b) give me the name of a reliable broadband supplier who actually cares that I receive a service I can use for the 21.50 a month I'm paying them (apparently this is not the case with VIRGIN).

Many thanks
Chris
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 01-03-2012, 04:49 PM

Do any of the LEDs by the Ethernet port light up when you plug the cable in? Are you aware that many cable modem service providers remember the Ethernet MAC of the connected device and won't work if you connect a different device? Some providers will let you cycle the cable modem to clear this, some require that you call in and authorize the change. I always have a router attached to the cable modem (or equivalent) that allows me to set the MAC to anything I want.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
broadband, cable, mini

« Osx 10.7 | F1 Problem? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.