Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
AustinUlster AustinUlster is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Help! - XP Install Hits Partition Error - 12-20-2011, 10:47 PM

Hi, & sorry if this is old news, I promise I searched for an age.

I bought a second hand STEC 8Gb SSD to replace the 4Gb one in my Mini 9, just to have a bit more space. Yes, it's not huge, but it's plenty for my needs.

Anyhow, loading XP Home from an external disc drive, I get to the user agreement, accept, then the screen shows 2 partitions and asks which one I want to put Windows in.

The first is about 40Mb, labelled FAT, and has some content - I can't see what. If I try to put Windows here I get a message saying too small, pick a bigger one.

The second is 7327Mb, labelled unknown, and apparently empty (7327Mb free). If I try to put it here I get "An error occurred while setup was updating partition info on 7327Mb disk 0 at ID 0 on bus 0 on atapi (MBR). Setup cannot continue, to quit press F3" i.e. it chucks me out.

I can't delete either partition; the 7327Mb gives me dire warnings about being a system partition (though apparently empty), and if I continue both return a message about not being able to access the partition. I also tried to create new partitions within the existing ones but it won't allow that either.

Out of options...any ideas please?

I'm thinking about trying to make a backup image of my (working) system on the 4Gb SSD, and using it to boot the machine with the 8Gb SSD re-installed, via USB? But frankly I don't know what I'm doing, and surely there's an esier way? Simple answers please, I'm old.

Thanks! AU
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 12-21-2011, 10:28 PM

The SSD is bad. This is a common failure mode.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
AustinUlster AustinUlster is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default 12-24-2011, 05:18 PM

Thanks for your advice Steve.
The back-up image plan indeed failed, and the SSD is now on its way back to the vendor.
Shiny new RunCore 16Gb on its way.
AU
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Mini 10v high capacity battery | Dell Mini 10v Bricked »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.