Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
MTV MTV is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default software - 09-22-2011, 05:45 PM

just bought a 10v off ebay.

came with only 2 disks. one said "application already installed on your computer
for reinstalling webcam central software"

the other one said "DRIVERS AND UTILITIES already installed on your computer. For reinstalling Dell inspiron 1011 computer software"

do any of these have xp and office as seller claims? also said 10v had 2GB

10v came with the HD doa and Bios said enhanced memory: 1024 mb.
rare (?) N280 but bios says speed is 1600Mhz

What to do?

Last edited by MTV; 09-22-2011 at 05:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 09-22-2011, 05:50 PM

Nope. Some XP systems didn't come with a recovery CD and had a recovery partition on the hard disk instead. Dunno about Office - that could have been ordered separately by the original buyer and preinstalled by Dell, but it would then have come with a separate Office CD that included a product key.

How "DOA" is it? Do you get to the BIOS screen?


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
MTV MTV is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default 09-22-2011, 06:01 PM

anyone>

---------- Post added at 10:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:53 AM ----------

Hi Steve! Thanks!
got to the bios but only saw hard drive in the boot setup portion.

---------- Post added at 10:58 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:54 AM ----------

could seller have upgraded ram but mobo cannot read?
is the N280 being read as going 1600Mhz?

---------- Post added at 11:01 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:58 AM ----------

planning on upgrading hd 128gb ($125) and ram ($30).
cheapest XP and Office...
is it worth it? Just send it back? gotten attached already...
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 09-23-2011, 12:50 AM

I can't imagine that the system was upgraded but the BIOS couldn't see it. Why don't you open the access panel and look? No idea why it says N280 but 1600MHz.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

« which is better? | N280 speed »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.