Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
shonokin shonokin is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default "Base,No Bios,N270,1.6,512K Diamondville,910 " - 01-19-2009, 11:07 PM

When I ordered the mini 9, the list of components and all looked pretty normal, but when going to the status page at Dell.com the first line in the list was quite different, showing this:
"Base,No Bios,N270,1.6,512K Diamondville,910 "

I know that Diamondville is a name for the Atom processor, but the "No Bios" part of this description makes me nervous. Has anyone else run across this? I've searched and found at least two other people asking about it but then never getting an answer.

What does it mean?? They can't really ship a computer without bios as they all need it to boot up, right? I've asked at the Dell forums but those forums are as close to useless as it comes.


shonokin
inspiron 910, 1 gig Ram, 16 gig SSD, WinXp
Atom N270 1.6GHz/533Mhz FSB/512K cache
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
Zardoz Zardoz is offline
Member
 
Zardoz's Avatar
 
Posts: 39
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Default Re: "Base,No Bios,N270,1.6,512K Diamondville,910 " - 01-19-2009, 11:36 PM

Most likely it means no BIOS update, (ie no bios update done) the system would not work without a BIOS, so i would not worrie about it.


Zardoz
Dell mini 9 (black) | 8GB PCIe-SSD | Corsair 2GB 667MHz | Patriot 16GB SDHC class 6 | Microsoft 7 beta 7000 | Dell BT BH-200 | Microsoft notebook optical mouse (silver) | Dell WEB Cam Software | Dell Inspiron 910 System BIOS (A04)
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Pastor John Pastor John is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default Re: "Base,No Bios,N270,1.6,512K Diamondville,910 " - 01-20-2009, 12:41 AM

My recent refurbished units had similar nomenclature, and it's cryptic to me as well. The two that I bought last week shipped with the A03 bios.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
shonokin shonokin is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default Re: "Base,No Bios,N270,1.6,512K Diamondville,910 " - 01-20-2009, 12:45 AM

Thanks Zardoz, that would make sense.

Pastor John, I'll be interested to see whether this comes with A02 or A03 then. A03 is the latest update?


shonokin
inspiron 910, 1 gig Ram, 16 gig SSD, WinXp
Atom N270 1.6GHz/533Mhz FSB/512K cache
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
jdizzle jdizzle is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 200
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: "Base,No Bios,N270,1.6,512K Diamondville,910 " - 01-20-2009, 12:53 AM

A03 is the latest "official release". A04 is here if you are the daring type.


Studio 1458 | Fingerprint magnet black Windows 7
Diztop D945GCLF2 | dual-core Intel® Atom™ processor 330
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Zardoz Zardoz is offline
Member
 
Zardoz's Avatar
 
Posts: 39
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Default Re: "Base,No Bios,N270,1.6,512K Diamondville,910 " - 01-20-2009, 01:02 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdizzle
A03 is the latest "official release". A04 is here if you are the daring type.

A04 is official and on dells website.


Zardoz
Dell mini 9 (black) | 8GB PCIe-SSD | Corsair 2GB 667MHz | Patriot 16GB SDHC class 6 | Microsoft 7 beta 7000 | Dell BT BH-200 | Microsoft notebook optical mouse (silver) | Dell WEB Cam Software | Dell Inspiron 910 System BIOS (A04)
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
somms somms is offline
Super Moderator
 
somms's Avatar
 
Posts: 883
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: FAA
Default Re: "Base,No Bios,N270,1.6,512K Diamondville,910 " - 01-20-2009, 01:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdizzle
A03 is the latest "official release". A04 is here if you are the daring type.
http://support.dell.com/support/downloa ... 1&impid=-1

910_A04 was officially released by Dell last week. Strongly suggest flashing your BIOS under DOS as it has been proven to be safer/faster than flashing under Windoze!


Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
shonokin shonokin is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default Re: "Base,No Bios,N270,1.6,512K Diamondville,910 " - 01-20-2009, 02:19 AM

I like the dos install instructions:

Quote:
# Copy the file 910_A04.exe to a bootable floppy.


# Boot from the floppy to the DOS prompt.


# Run the file by typing Y:\910_A04.exe (where y is the drive letter where the executable is located).
A floppy? :lol: Sooo is that shorthand for any read memory device such as a flash stick or whatnot? I haven't seen a floppy in about 5 years and that was just because I was moving and had some in a box. Sorry, just thought that was a little humorous.

How stable have the Dell bios installs (dos or windows versions) been? A couple of weeks ago I flashed the bios on a Nokia n800 (Maemo Linux) and it wasn't terribly complicated but there was some baby-sitting and hand wringing involved.


shonokin
inspiron 910, 1 gig Ram, 16 gig SSD, WinXp
Atom N270 1.6GHz/533Mhz FSB/512K cache
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
somms somms is offline
Super Moderator
 
somms's Avatar
 
Posts: 883
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: FAA
Default Re: "Base,No Bios,N270,1.6,512K Diamondville,910 " - 01-20-2009, 02:38 AM

http://stashbox.org/browse.php?q=flashBIOS

You could use the above to build either DOS bootable USB or CD in order to flash up to the latest 910_A04...


Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
DanielN DanielN is offline
Senior Member
 
DanielN's Avatar
 
Posts: 159
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Re: "Base,No Bios,N270,1.6,512K Diamondville,910 " - 01-20-2009, 03:13 AM

I ordered a refurbed system early last week with WWAN & AT&T HSDPA 5530 and it already had the A04 bios installed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Leaving my Dell Inspiron 9 on | Flashing on/off LED while plugged in, unable to turn on Mini »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.