Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Reece666 Reece666 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 36
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
Default Newbie - 03-30-2011, 10:19 PM

Hi im a new guy and i need a dell mini that is the best one for OSX as i have a imac at home but want a small convenient laptop for college thats got mac os.
ok thanks
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 03-30-2011, 10:33 PM

none come with it.....it is ILLEGAL to buy/sell a Mini with OSX pre-loaded if thats what you want you must look towards another site you will NOT find it here, heres what you can do:

1. Buy a Dell Mini 10v (that is the most "hackontoshable") model
try looking here: http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/sale/
2. Buy a Retail copy of MAC OSX legally
3. There are many guides on this site from what I have been told "Mechdrew"'s guide seems to be the best, after you get everything there is a very good section on this forum that specializes in just the Dell Mini 10v OSX discussions and someone will certainly get you up and running..Good Luck
you can find it here:
http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/dell...-x-discussion/




PS. Welcome to the forum...

NOTE: The Mini 9 is also pretty easy to install OSX on the only thing is that that model is restricted to only being able to run an SSD drive, you can not use a standard 2.5in SATA hard drive in the Mini 9 and actually the SSD is a Mini PCI-e drive not even a standard SSD either


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case

Last edited by rrfranczak3; 03-30-2011 at 10:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Reece666 Reece666 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 36
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
Default 04-04-2011, 08:29 PM

ok thanks ever so much also mate errm how did you install a 750GB in a 10v ididnt think you could put a big hard drive in one
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 04-04-2011, 08:33 PM

He has a Mini 10 (1010), not a 10v, but you can get some pretty high capacity disks in 2.5" size nowadays.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Reece666 Reece666 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 36
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
Default 04-04-2011, 09:05 PM

ok cool can i ask not that im in anyway thinking of installing it but
how well does OSX work on these machines
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 04-04-2011, 09:35 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reece666 View Post
ok thanks ever so much also mate errm how did you install a 750GB in a 10v ididnt think you could put a big hard drive in one
Yeah Steve is right, mine is a 1010 (see my sig).....750gb is no problem, actually that is the largest you can fit in them due to the fact that up to 750gb are all 9mm high and when you get up to the terabyte drives they are 12.5mm high so it woudn't fit under the keyboard (probably due to the extra platters), believe me if a terabyte would have fit I would have one......thinking of swapping it out for a 7200rpm drive though (WD Scorpio Black)...and use my 750gb (WD Scorpio Blue) which is only a 5400rpm drive as an external drive for backups..I'll see


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 04-04-2011, 11:23 PM

OS X runs fairly well on a 1011 (10v) or 910 (Mini 9), not well at all on the 1010. We have many active users in the Mac OS section of the forum - go take a look.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
Reece666 Reece666 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 36
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
Default 04-18-2011, 07:34 PM

right i have a 10v now which came with windows 7 stater installed and badges. it now has osx running flawlessly and ive impressed many mac geeks.
how do i know whether my p is a N270 or a N280
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 04-18-2011, 08:26 PM

There should be a line in the BIOS pages that identifies the CPU.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 04-18-2011, 10:11 PM

you can also go to the Dell site and enter the service tag# (usually located on the bottom of the unit) and that will tell you everything the system left Dell with

link:

http://support.dell.com/support/topi...b=2&~ck=anavml


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case

Last edited by rrfranczak3; 04-18-2011 at 10:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Ubunto to XP ... Lost Wireless Capability | Newby... »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.