Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Roder70 Roder70 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default AT&T mini-Dell 10hd and Quickbooks - 02-28-2011, 05:58 PM

Hey All, starting up a small business and my CPA suggested a netbook or laptop for ease of using Quickbooks. AT&T has a promotion for a dellmini 10 hd and I was wondering if loading Quickbooks 2010pro was feasible on something this small, the Dell runs 1 gig of ram and 250g on the hd, thanks on advance for any info available!
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 02-28-2011, 06:38 PM

Looking at the system requirements, the only thing I'd be concerned about is the screen resolution. Make sure you get a model that supports at least 1024x768 resolution. There are several models identified by "Mini 10", but I think the one you are looking at is the Inspiron 1012. Otherwise, it should be fine.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Roder70 Roder70 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 02-28-2011, 06:53 PM

Thanks for the quick response! Just noticed the "inspiron" in there, does that does that make a difference? The At&t website lists it as sku#69149, and resolution is listed as 1366x768, at 1 gig of ram only draw back should be speed no?
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 02-28-2011, 09:19 PM

the 1gb should be fine for quickbooks..and if Steve is right and it is a 1012 (which I seem to remember others on this site getting the same unit), the 1012 is upgradeable to 2gb if necessary but 1gb should be fine for your needs...

PS. Welcome to the forum.....

BTW: definitely make sure you get the 1366x768 HD screen though..I couldnt live without it on mine..but I had to get the HD because of the TV tuner I have in mine


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case

Last edited by rrfranczak3; 02-28-2011 at 09:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 02-28-2011, 09:30 PM

Intuit says that 1GB is plenty.

All of the Dell Minis (except for the Vostro A90) are Inspiron models. The SKU number is AT&T's.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Roder70 Roder70 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 02-28-2011, 11:51 PM

Excellent! Thanks guys for the advice, that was all the info I needed to push me over the hump, calling in my order in the morning and Franczak, great feet!
Reply With Quote
Reply

« holmes4 can you look | Is Dell "friendly" regarding returns? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.