Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
dew2 dew2 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 59
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default Problem HELP again - 02-06-2011, 03:37 AM

Awhile back I posted. I got a rebuilt computer and tried to install Win XP Pro off the disc that came with it, on to my Mini9.I learned it was not legal.So I bought a new Win XP Pro disc.
I try to install it,it gets to "starting windows" phase of installing, then I get a error message it says,
stop c0000221 unknown hard error\systemRoot\system32\ ntdll.dll

How can I install my new WinXP Pro?? Is there a way around this error??
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 02-06-2011, 01:42 PM

A Google search of this error message generally implicates a defective hard disk. You can try doing the install from scratch, deleting any existing partitions, and see if you get further.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
dew2 dew2 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 59
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 02-07-2011, 12:28 AM

I tried again neither disc of WinXPPro one new and one for another computer work and both get the same error.
I did google it before I asked here,I was hoping here I'd get better advice.I did reset to defaults,I dont know what SB V-Link is, but from online checking I was to disable it?
No partitions,set to defaults dont work.I can and did intstall WinXPHome.
Its disturbing I can't use pro.
Each time I install after going to Windows updates, My mini9 at each boot runs diskcheck and shows a unknown error.Is there a chance I can stop the chkdsk? How about if I updated the bios? would that give a better chance of getting Pro working? Thanks once again for the help!
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 02-07-2011, 03:00 PM

Can you still install XP Home? Is your XP Pro an SP3 version? I think SP3 is needed to add some driver support that the Mini 9 needs to boot.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
dew2 dew2 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 59
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 02-07-2011, 03:14 PM

Yes both discs are WinXPPro SP3 One is a dell the other is original Microsoft.
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 02-07-2011, 05:23 PM

Does XP Home install ok now?


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
dew2 dew2 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 59
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 02-07-2011, 09:52 PM

Yes XPHome installs just fine.I installed after trying each Pro disc at least 3 times.
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 02-08-2011, 02:08 AM

I'm out of ideas, then.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
dew2 dew2 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 59
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 02-08-2011, 02:33 AM

When I start a clean install is it the BIOS that controls the install? Seeing the SSD is blank.
I just ordered a supertalent 16GB with the mydellmini discount.I might try a upgraded bios?? But I do need your advice, Might it with a different bios help with getting Pro installed?
Where does the down load go before its installed on the SSD?
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 02-08-2011, 06:13 AM

no the BIOS does not, that is why windows formats the drive first, the install actually DOES go to the hard drive into a temporary directory and also creates a temporary boot file, that is why if you stop/abort the install, it will restart on its own (from the beginning usually)..the BIOS has really nothing to do with the install, it is NOT specific to windows or any other operating system


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
Reply

« mini 10 wont load some internet pages | best os to reinstall on my mini »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.