Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Default Newbie Introduction! - 12-30-2010, 09:21 PM

Hi all!

Been browsing the forum for a while and found it very valuable at giving me a helping hand at finding lots of useful info!

Anyway, I am a photographer, with a Canon EOS 7D. I dabble with videography; time lapsing such as:
(shamless advertising I know ) and I also find remote shooting invaluable. The Canon TC-80N3 is a Canon cord used for timing sequences, delay sequences, etc. with Canon cameras, but with an RRP of around £150 this isn't a cheap bit of kit!

I currently have a Studio XPS 1640, 2.8GHz Core 2 Duo with 4GB RAM and 1GB Radeon HD4670 dedicated graphics and a 256GB SSD, 1080p rgbLED screen and slot loading blu-ray drive. This is my powerhouse, and by far the best computer I've ever owned. I reguarly render (Autodesk Inventor) and photoshop, watch blu rays, edit movies, etc on it.

Anyway, that's my back story! I decided to get a mini due to the fact that 'Canon EOS Utility' is free software that comes with most(?) Canon cameras, and can be used to tether the camera to allow remote shooting as well as use the functions that the £150 cord provides. After reading that EOS Utility doesn't install on the lower res screen, it was a MUST for me to get the larger screen!

The mini will not only be part of my camera gear, but will no doubt take over as my 'around the house' computer!

I have, from the Dell Outlet, purchased a Dell Mini 1012 in Black. I know it has the HD screen, as well as a 6-cell battery, 250GB HDD and the 365 bluetooth chip. After emailing the outlet, they were unable to tell me if this had the Broadcom chip, and I am awaiting a reply to tell me what WLAN card it has, and if it has WWAN.