Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
MeximCivic MeximCivic is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Can Dell Mini 10 Z520 Run Win7 - 12-05-2010, 08:44 PM

I just purchased a Dell Mini 10 on eBay on the details it showed that it was a Z520 model I want to know if its possible to run a smooth Windows 7 OS I love XP but would definitely prefer to have it running on Win7. Thats as much information that I have right now once the netbook comes in I will have more details.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
tikblang tikblang is offline
Senior Member
 
tikblang's Avatar
 
Posts: 136
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bezel is very thin. Mount Banahaw Phil
Default Seven will run better - 12-05-2010, 10:05 PM

It will ran but not blazing fast. A faster seagate (try 7200 rpm) may help a lot. Since your box can only run 32 bit, make the OS partition small like 16Gig. Uninstall all the crapware. Go to visual/performance, set it to not for nice looks but for performance. Poulsbo chipset will not play nice with the "no moving part storage" like OWC, OCZ. Forget about installing those expensive $2/gig storage on your mini10. It will get worse.


XPS-1340 Merlot | C2D-p8700 3 Gig | 1510N-wifi | 9500g SLI | 3 Gig RAM | Crap -HL-DT-DVD gs20n | => donate=given away.
Lat2100 | Yellow | 320-40G-g3 ssd | 1366x768 | 1397b/g | 2 Gig | 6-Cell | Got back from Ell
Mini9 - 1 Gig 16 gig SSD OSX10.6.3 to 10.6.7-unstable so_now_10.6.8 Very nice.

hack+, re-use+, recycl+, donate+
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 12-05-2010, 10:29 PM

I have a 1010 with the faster z530 processor and Win 7 runs fine, I also have Aero turned on and my 750gb drive is only 5400rpm and it runs pretty damn fast, just watch how much crap you have running in the background, I have bare minimal and ESET NOD32 and like I said it runs fine....


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
MeximCivic MeximCivic is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default 12-06-2010, 12:30 AM

Do you think I'll see a dramatic change if I'm running on the Z520 model compared to your Z530? As for the HDD I have several SATA Drives from other Laptops here at home the Dell Minis do use the same size HDDs right? Thanks for the quick response I really wanna see what this little system can do since I'll be using it for school and work.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 12-06-2010, 12:56 AM

the Minis use a standard 2.5 inch SATA drive, can not be any bigger than 9.5mm, a 12.5mm will not fit, thats the only thing that stopped me from putting a 1tb drive in.... the 750gb is the largest made at 9.5mm the 1tb drives are 12.5mm and too thick, the processor speed will depend on how many things you wanna do at once and also what they are....neither one are much good for things like photoshop thats for sure, the z530 is just a little faster, your z520 runs @ 1.33mhz and my z530 runs @ 1.6mhz, I just wanted mine maxed out when I ordered it thats all..if I could I would swap it out with a z560 which runs @ 2.13mhz but unfortunately even that chip maxs out at 2gb of RAM


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
MeximCivic MeximCivic is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default What about dual boot? - 12-06-2010, 07:09 AM

Awesome thanks! I can't wait 'till Wednesday when it comes in. One last question if you don't mind, do you have any good links where I can learn how to dual boot XP/W7 I really like the features they both have so I want to max mine out as well. Just ordered a mCover(c) for it too gonna look good
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 12-06-2010, 02:43 PM

if you load Win 7 Ultimate it has a feature built in called Virtual XP Mode, which starts an entire XP virtual machine inside of Win 7, its pretty awesome even the task manager (ctrl+alt+del) is in Win XP format......that will give you the best of both worlds, and you can access the data from both sides...I havent done it on my Mini but I have it running on my HP laptop...pretty cool...but a warning my HP laptop is a 3.4ghz Pentium 4 processor (it can handle ANYTHING)...I havent tried this on an Atom processor yet...my Mini still Dual Boots the old fashioned way, but keep in mind that your processor is the slowest processor in a Mini @ 1.3ghz all the 'n' series processors(1011/1012/1018) are 1.6ghz or higher at 1.66ghz and the z530 is also higher at 1.6ghz..even the Mini 9 runs at 1.6ghz so that maybe the only drawback for you and no it cant be upgraded

as far as the dual booting goes I used this utility:
http://rapidshare.com/files/43456191...mUSB_0-2-3.exe

Instructions are here:
WinSetupFromUSB – Install Windows XP from USB Flash Drive « myeeeguides.wordpress.com

In my case I loaded Win 7 first then XP, just format your drive the way you want it, in my case I gave 600gb to Win 7 and the rest to XP, thats up to you how you do yours....but Win 7 does have a built in disk manager which will allow you to expand and shrink partitions so its no big deal either way...if you need more instructions check the Dual Booting section of this forum but it does deal mostly with Windows and OSX


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 12-06-2010, 06:57 PM

I'm pretty sure that all editions of Win7 can run XP Mode.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 12-06-2010, 07:22 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by holmes4 View Post
I'm pretty sure that all editions of Win7 can run XP Mode.
Steve, when you try to download it from MS, your get this msg if you pick starter or home editions (32 or 64bit):
Quote:
You are not eligible to download Windows XP Mode. You must have Windows 7 Professional, Enterprise, or Ultimate to run Windows XP Mode.
thats where I got it from.....

link:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/vir.../download.aspx


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 12-07-2010, 08:51 PM

Ok - I misinterpreted the page.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dell mini 10, win7, windows 7, z520

« To Dell or not to Dell... that is the question! | New Dell Mini 10... nice but some problems »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.