Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Default Hello! Couple questions plz. - 01-13-2009, 08:54 AM

This is my first post here, I'm posting from my awesome mini 9 I just got and I had a couple questions.

I can't see the while window in some of my programs, like photoshop, because of the resolution @ 1024x600. Are there any tools that fix this or at least let me get around it?

I noticed my battery icon goes off the system tray when it's done charging. Does that mean I don't have to take my battery out when it's plugged in and charged?

Thanks.
  (#2) Old
Administrator

Default Re: Hello! Couple questions plz. - 01-13-2009, 02:47 PM

I've seen some others suggest tools for changing the display resolution (though it would be interpolated and may not look good), but I have no personal experience with this.

The battery does not need to be removed - the system will automatically stop charging when it's full. I'd say it's counterproductive to remove a Li-Ion battery for this purpose. I'm somewhat puzzled that the icon disappears from the tray - I didn't see that behavior. Maybe you need to adjust the notification tray properties to "always show" the battery icon.

Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
  (#3) Old

Default Re: Hello! Couple questions plz. - 01-13-2009, 03:00 PM

I do not agree about the baterie. If you never use it now but you plan to use it in the future it is better to store it like this :
- in the dark
- at 40% level charged
- at 20°C

Stored that way a batterie lose 5% of his nominal capacity per year. (stored at 100% level charge at 60°C, it loose something like 80% of his nominal capacity every 3 month).

So, a batterie get older quicker in your laptop than in a safe place ...

Ref : http://www.batteryuniversity.com/parttwo-34.htm