Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
kopredite kopredite is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default screen res - 06-06-2010, 07:42 PM

Hi have a dell 1012 mini. Its says it has a 1024x600 wsvga screen. Is this classed as high definition? Just want to check as some places say it is.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 06-06-2010, 07:46 PM

No - it would need to have the 1366x768 display to be classified as HD.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
reflex reflex is offline
Guru
 
reflex's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,997
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 06-06-2010, 07:58 PM

I'd classify a 1024x600 screen as sub-HD. But it should be noticeably better than SD (standard definition).

To be HD, I'd want about 1 million pixels (1080i and 720p are about 1Mpx). 1024x600 is only about 600,000 px.


Mini 9 | Intel 5100 Wifi | Ubuntu 10.04 Netbook
Mini 1012 | SSD | Intel 6200 Wifi | Ubuntu 11.10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 06-06-2010, 08:14 PM

reflex,
so I got 1333x768 res and its fantastic but according to your conversions how many pixels is that?

about 768,000?

I get pretty good video


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 06-06-2010, 08:28 PM

The vertical resolution needs to be at least 720 to qualify as HD, according to the most commonly accepted definition. The horizontal resolution needs to be 16/9 times the vertical, which is why you get 1366 pixels wide with 768 pixels high.

1366x768 is 1,049,088 pixels.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
kopredite kopredite is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default 06-06-2010, 09:04 PM

When i purchased the machine it said 1024x600 is high def so is this wrong then. Would it need the broadcom card then to make HD
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 06-06-2010, 09:52 PM

dont think that would do it....the LCD screen itself just IS NOT HD..sorry but I think all you can do is replace the screen itself, makes me laugh though..so many people want to save money when they buy these things then spend a fortune to upgrade them...be it HD, bluetooth, 6cell battery, better wi-fi...oh well...Good Luck to you though...might find a screen on ebay or something, but the 1012 is kinda new so I dont know how much luck you will have


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
nollie nollie is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 243
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Send a message via MSN to nollie
Default 06-14-2010, 05:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrfranczak3 View Post
makes me laugh though..so many people want to save money when they buy these things then spend a fortune to upgrade them...be it HD, bluetooth, 6cell battery, better wi-fi
To be honest it was a bit of a surprise to find out how much a little netbook was capable of when first purchasing one over 18 months ago, I think that adding all these expensive extras really does extend the total amount of time I'd be willing to keep my Mini9. Personally the stock Dell Mini9 with XP, 1GB of RAM and 16GB SSD would have been replaced long ago if it weren't for the RAM and SSD upgrades.



Dell Mini 9 - 64GB Runcore - 2GB RAM - Windows 7 - 16GB SD - Jolicloud Beta
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Dell inspiron mini 1011fr im10v-4020f | Extend Battery Life »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.