Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Default 10v touchpad- the simple answer? - 05-12-2010, 02:40 AM

hi guys, i'm a beginner, having just bought a 10v. I'm running XP Home, and am hoping to fix the issues with the touchpad- it is too sensitive when i'm typing, is difficult to use the integrated buttons, and i'm hoping that i can find a solution that will keep the horizontal and vertical sidebar scrolling function.

I don't know enough about this computer to go through all the various threads about this issue, so i was hoping someone could give me a simple answer. Will installing ApplePS2Controller.kext.zip which was posted by merklort solve my problems with the touchpad? What is the simplest way to get a touchpad that works well, whether or not it was 2 finger scroll is irrelevant. Can someone post a link or the driver?

Thanks,
  (#2) Old

Default 05-12-2010, 03:08 AM

1. No. ApplePS2Controller.kext will not help you. You are running XP. This one is for Hackintosh.
2. I guess you have original Dell driver for your touchpad. Try settings in XP Control panel. They are either in mouse settings or in separate touchpad/trackpad section. Look for advanced settings as well.
3. If nothing helps try to find Synaptics (touchpad manufactorer) Win XP 32 bit driver. Or upgrade to Windows7 which might have better driver as well.

Sorry - no simple answer.

Mini 10v, BIOS A06, OS X 10.6.6, Linux-Mint, 1 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD
  (#3) Old

Default 05-12-2010, 09:24 AM

Download and install the latest driver from Synaptics at Scrybe, you will have many settings for your requirements
  (#4) Old

Default 05-12-2010, 05:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by pokenguyen View Post
Download and install the latest driver from Synaptics at Scrybe, you will have many settings for your requirements