Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Guinifi Guinifi is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default Wireless Problem - 03-30-2010, 07:16 AM

Hi All,
New guy here. I've got a Mini10 and am having a heck of a time with the wireless part of it. I can connect to some networks, but not all, and not even my own. I don't get it, I guess.
My kids got me a Belkin wireless router so I could surf out on the patio, and I set up the wireless network according to instructions. Here's the rub. I can connect to my neighbor's wireless pretty good and can surf, but I cannot get anyplace on my own network. My visitors come to my house and can connect to my network. My daughter even connects to it with her phone! But my dell won't connect to it.
It LOOKS like it's connected. When I mouseover the little bitty TV set in my system tray I get a small popup that says (Wireless network connection (name of network)
Speed 54.0 Mbps
Signal strength: Excellent
Status: Connected)
However, I can't go anyplace on the net and cannot check mail.
What am I doing wrong? As I said, I can connect to other networks, like my neighbor's and like in public areas and such. What's up?
Thanks in advance for any help on this.
Guinifi
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
Guinifi Guinifi is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default 03-31-2010, 12:13 PM

Wow. I guess this one's got everyone stumped, huh?
Guinifi
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 03-31-2010, 02:03 PM

Does your router show that the Mini has been assigned a network address? Which OS are you running?

I recall that when I first got my Mini 9, I had a similar issue with only the Actiontec router in my home. It worked most anywhere else. I replaced the router and it worked much better - later I replaced the network card.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 03-31-2010, 04:06 PM

if you can go to the command prompt and type in "ipconfig/all", that should display your current settings, look at where it says IP ADDRESS..what is listed there?

PS. This only for Windows..and if you are on Windows 7 look where it says something about IP4v..and the addresses listed there..if you are on other OS's?..Good Luck...

PSS. Welcome to the forum..


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
pablodiablo696996 pablodiablo696996 is offline
Junior Member
 
pablodiablo696996's Avatar
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 03-31-2010, 09:46 PM

Its not your computer with issues. Its your router. I have a Trend net router and its very picky. My mom in law router is Linksys and runs fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« plse help!! Integ webcam driver dell insp no inf | Fleeing the dark OS »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.