Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Default New to the site, Hello everyone!!! - 02-17-2010, 10:47 PM

Just ordered my Dell 11z from Dell.com. I'm hopping i made the right decision. I ordered it with the Celeron instead of the Pentium because I was only after the Windows 7 OS and the 6 cell battery. I'm a college student and was tired of lugging around my 1525 with all my books. So the use will be mainly note taking and word/excell processing with some internet surfing for research and email. I'm not sure if I will be able to tell the diff but does anyone think that I should call Dell and change to the Pentium before it's to late?

P.S.
Hello everyone from Jeffk88
  (#2) Old
Guru

Default 02-17-2010, 11:11 PM

Welcome.

I like my Mini with its Atom CPU. But at the higher price point of the 11z, I'd want the dual core CPU. I think the single core CPU's performance is similar to an Atom, while the dual core is markedly faster.

Mini 9 | Intel 5100 Wifi | Ubuntu 10.04 Netbook
Mini 1012 | SSD | Intel 6200 Wifi | Ubuntu 11.10 64bit
  (#3) Old

Default 02-17-2010, 11:16 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffk88 View Post
Just ordered my Dell 11z from Dell.com. I'm hopping i made the right decision. I ordered it with the Celeron instead of the Pentium because I was only after the Windows 7 OS and the 6 cell battery. I'm a college student and was tired of lugging around my 1525 with all my books. So the use will be mainly note taking and word/excell processing with some internet surfing for research and email. I'm not sure if I will be able to tell the diff but does anyone think that I should call Dell and change to the Pentium before it's to late?

P.S.
Hello everyone from Jeffk88