Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#11) Old
bjw bjw is offline
Member
 
Posts: 30
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 02-24-2010, 07:00 AM

With windows 7 the option "hide modes that this monitor cannot display" has to be selected in order to be able to display the correct 1024 x 600 resolution.

Go to Control Panel
Appearance and personalization
display
Change display settings - from the choices in the column on the left side of screen
advanced settings - on the lower right side
Monitor tab
Check the box for "Hide modes that this monitor cannot di splay"

1024 x 600 should now be an option for the display setIting


Similarly in XP: Display > Settings > advanced > monitor > check box " hide modes that the monitor cannot display"
Reply With Quote
  (#12) Old
mrcrysis mrcrysis is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default 08-22-2011, 09:22 AM

I have the same issue here.
But the box for " hide modes this monitor can't display" is greyed out so I have no way to tick it.
Any help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  (#13) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 08-22-2011, 02:19 PM

that is usually caused by a driver issue. make sure that you have the correct and latest drivers, remember that most XP drivers will work on Win 7 also


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#14) Old
mrcrysis mrcrysis is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default 08-25-2011, 09:14 AM

Hi, thanks for your reply.
Which driver should I use?
Because I downloaded the 10v's XP driver from dell's site and it won't install.
Reply With Quote
  (#15) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 08-25-2011, 03:05 PM

Go here and use the tool to detect the needed driver, which is for the Intel 945GSE chipset.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#16) Old
mrcrysis mrcrysis is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default 08-27-2011, 07:31 AM

Is there a Windows 7 or Windows XP version to choose from?
If so, which should I get?
Reply With Quote
  (#17) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 08-27-2011, 01:03 PM

If you are running Windows 7, then use Windows 7.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#18) Old
mrcrysis mrcrysis is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default 09-09-2011, 09:26 AM

Alright, I ran the utility and it said that I have the latest driver.
So, I am thinking of using a XP driver for my GMA 950 to solve my problem.
But I couldn't find a XP video driver. The one from Dell won't install due to incompatibility. Can anyone help me find a XP driver for the GMA 950? Thanks.

Last edited by mrcrysis; 09-09-2011 at 09:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  (#19) Old
mrcrysis mrcrysis is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default 09-16-2011, 09:11 AM

Umm....
Can anyone please show me where to download the XP driver for gma 950?
More specifically, the one for the atom n270 chipset.
Reply With Quote
  (#20) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 09-16-2011, 01:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrcrysis View Post
Umm....
Can anyone please show me where to download the XP driver for gma 950?
More specifically, the one for the atom n270 chipset.
just go to Intels Web site....

BTW: the processor has NOTHING to do with the driver whether its the n270/n280 etc....


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Web Brower Key Entry Problem | which is better? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.