Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#11) Old
w7ox w7ox is offline
Senior Member
 
w7ox's Avatar
 
Posts: 449
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 02-05-2010, 03:20 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Side.Step.Society View Post
Yes, you can just add another partition to your disk via Disk Utility. Heck, you could probably use Boot Camp if you wanted.
Interesting speculation re Boot Camp. I wonder if it is possible with a hackintosh? Seems I read sometime ago that Boot Camp did not support Windows 7, but maybe that's changed.

Phil


Netbook: Mini 10v, BIOS A05, OS X 10.6.4, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, BT
Reply With Quote
  (#12) Old
Side.Step.Society Side.Step.Society is offline
Senior Member
 
Side.Step.Society's Avatar
 
Posts: 289
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Send a message via MSN to Side.Step.Society
Default 02-05-2010, 03:24 AM

There's no reason why it wouldn't work. All it does is partition your disk.

I've used the Boot Camp drivers in Windows 7 on my Mac mini, no problems at all.

Also installed "Boot Camp services" on my 10v to get the HFS read only driver, which is a very impressive read only driver. I'll use it before I ever use MacDrive. I of course left out the actual hardware drivers included in Boot Camp and it still worked flawlessly.
Reply With Quote
  (#13) Old
sevimli sevimli is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default 02-15-2010, 06:38 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Side.Step.Society View Post
There's no reason why it wouldn't work. All it does is partition your disk.

I've used the Boot Camp drivers in Windows 7 on my Mac mini, no problems at all.

Also installed "Boot Camp services" on my 10v to get the HFS read only driver, which is a very impressive read only driver. I'll use it before I ever use MacDrive. I of course left out the actual hardware drivers included in Boot Camp and it still worked flawlessly.

It is interesting, whenever I try to use BootCamp I am getting an error. It says update your Boot ROM.

I am using "mini 10"
Reply With Quote
  (#14) Old
Side.Step.Society Side.Step.Society is offline
Senior Member
 
Side.Step.Society's Avatar
 
Posts: 289
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Send a message via MSN to Side.Step.Society
Default 02-15-2010, 06:45 AM

There are workarounds for that.

Google the words, "Boot Camp" "Hackintosh" and the error you're getting. Should help you out.
Reply With Quote
  (#15) Old
chrispi79 chrispi79 is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 162
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 02-15-2010, 09:24 AM

you can use virtual box too. (its free and emulate a second pc in your pc)

Pro: didnt repartition and get the risk of loosing your installation
works perfect for the most simple programs on winxp
took just 4gb on your harddrive / solidstatedrive

Kontra: not native / you ve too split the power of your system for two os running the same moment.


didnt know how it works with less then 2gb, but with mine its very good, can get into fullscreen 1024x600 and it feel very snappy on my ssd

For boot camp and native xp you can use this guide

but be very carefully, because you have to restore your kexts, otherwise you will not be able to boot in your osx anymore.

Good Luck


mini10v | 10.6.3 | 2GB RAM | 64GB SSDNOW V-Series | NBI 0.8.4RC1 | A06 | BT:no | WAKEn LEGACYff
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Rookie trying to Reformat his Dell Inspiron 1010 (mini)... Please help! | where can i buy the best mini 10v? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.