Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
speed10v speed10v is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default Hello I'm Speed10v... - 01-12-2010, 11:02 PM

Just want to say hi and post a few questions.

My Mini 10v came with Ubuntu so I replace the 8GB with a Runcore 32GB. My bios is A00, but so far, Snow Leopard is running fine except for the sleep problem.

So, should I even upgrade the bios to A03 or A04?

Also, some of my friends are interested in getting a Mini 10v hackintosh. Is it safe to assume that if the Mini 10v come with Vista then it's bios is A06, and if it's running XP, then it's bios is A05 or lower?

Thanks in advance!


Mini10v * 1.6GHz * 1GB RAM * 32GB Runcore SSD * BIOS A00 * MacOS X 10.6 * NBM 0.8.3 RC5
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
Montala Montala is offline
Super Moderator
 
Montala's Avatar
 
Posts: 871
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Herefordshire (U.K.)
Default 01-14-2010, 04:47 PM

Hi 'speed 10v',

Are you sure your BIOS version is really A00? I have never heard of that one before, and would actually be quite surprised if they sold any retails models with that BIOS.

As far as I am aware, all new 10v' ordered directly from Dell are now shipped with BIOS A06, regardless of the OS actually installed, but of courseif you order from an 'Outlet' or other similar source, I don't think you can really assume anything!

I think my comments here are correct, but I am quite prepared to be told otherwise, if anyone has any factual proof to the contrary!


Mini 10v - Product (RED) - BIOS A06 - Ubuntu 11.04 - 2GB RAM - 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD - Bluetooth - Intel 6205 Wi-Fi - WWAN
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
speed10v speed10v is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default 01-15-2010, 09:56 PM

I bought my Mini10v on eBay. It came with Ubuntu ver8. Here's a screen shot. Bios A00.



I think the previous owner ordered it from Dell. I have to check my records. I also was under the impression that Mini 10v's running linux/ubuntu had to have Bios at A00. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

However, my 10v is running okay with 10.6 with Bios A00, so I guess it's all good. And like I said I just need to tackle the wake from sleep lock up.


Mini10v * 1.6GHz * 1GB RAM * 32GB Runcore SSD * BIOS A00 * MacOS X 10.6 * NBM 0.8.3 RC5
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 01-17-2010, 02:48 AM

Welcome to the forum


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
speed10v speed10v is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default 01-20-2010, 09:09 PM

Thanks for the welcome!


Mini10v * 1.6GHz * 1GB RAM * 32GB Runcore SSD * BIOS A00 * MacOS X 10.6 * NBM 0.8.3 RC5
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Which to Buy - Mini 10 or 10v | Keep Dell Launcher »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.