Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Smile Mini 10 - Random crashes after installing ubuntu 9.04 - 01-06-2010, 09:17 PM

i've recently installed ubuntu 9.04 on my mini 1010. its got the gma500 graphics chip and so was a real pain getting the resolution to 1024. the video is still choppy and cant seem to install/play flash videos. as well as that the machine also seems to just randomly hang - anywhere between when its been on for as little as 5 minutes to an hour. i can still move the cursor but nothing actions and no keyboard commands function either. im pretty new to ubuntu so wouldn't know where to start even investigating what the issue could be.

anyone got any good ideas?
  (#2) Old

Default 01-06-2010, 10:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Green Vigo View Post
i've recently installed ubuntu 9.04 on my mini 1010. its got the gma500 graphics chip and so was a real pain getting the resolution to 1024. the video is still choppy and cant seem to install/play flash videos. as well as that the machine also seems to just randomly hang - anywhere between when its been on for as little as 5 minutes to an hour. i can still move the cursor but nothing actions and no keyboard commands function either. im pretty new to ubuntu so wouldn't know where to start even investigating what the issue could be.

anyone got any good ideas?
Welcome to the world of Linux on the 1010. I wish I could paint a better picture; but its just not there. While I have never had my 1010 lock up running XP it happens all the time with 9.04, 9.10 and Mandriva 2010. The problem is still the drivers that try to make 1024X600 usable on the 1010.