Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Nickob Nickob is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default Disc capacity issues - 01-06-2010, 02:54 PM

I was delighted to receive my mini 10 for Christmas (8bg hd, Ubuntu) and decided to upgrade the system to Windows XP pro. Initially I tried to do this via a memory stick but that was unsuccessful. The system seemed to be installing but came to a grinding halt after a few minutes. I bought a removeable CD drive and installed successfully throught that.

However, when the system boots up, I am given two options to install windows, both looking identical. The first option is the default one which boots the machine, but if I select the second option, I get the same error message as I did when I unsuccessfully installed xp. It seems as though it's on there twice!

I also notice that with only a couple of programmes loaded (around 1/2 GB total), a massive amount of disc space has been used - a little under 5 GB!

I have read posts from other members about the Page File setting, and to check whether hibernation is on, but I doubt whether this will explain all the missing space.

Can anyone help? And does anyone know how I can delete the frist screen, giving me the two identical power-up options?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
Thorsteenster Thorsteenster is offline
Expert Member
 
Posts: 510
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 01-06-2010, 03:09 PM

Right click My Computer, go to Properties and click the Advanced tab. Click the Settings button under Startup and Recovery. Under Default Operating System you should have a drop down box with two options, the two XP instances presented to you at boot.
Now, if you don't select one and let it time out, does it go to the bootable install or the failed?
If so, then change it to the other option in the drop down, then reboot to verify. After it goes to the real install by default go back to these settings and uncheck the "Time to display list of operating systems" checkbox.


C:\M11xR2\320GBHD\4GBRAM\W7HP
D:\duo\320GBHD\2GBRAM\W8DP
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Nickob Nickob is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default Many thanks - 01-06-2010, 03:52 PM

That's really helpful, thank you. If I let the machine time out, it boots successfully, so I assume I just uncheck the box as you suggest.

Nick O'B
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Thorsteenster Thorsteenster is offline
Expert Member
 
Posts: 510
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 01-06-2010, 04:05 PM

Bingo!
After you uncheck that box, click Apply and Okay, then click the Settings button under Performance, click the Advanced tab, and at the bottom you'll see Virtual Memory and how much drive space is allocated.
I'm not sure the recomendations for this with SSD's off the top of my head, but think it can be set to No Paging File for your C: drive. If it starts acting funky or prompting Windows is low on virtual memory, then bump it back up to maybe 512mb and play with it.


C:\M11xR2\320GBHD\4GBRAM\W7HP
D:\duo\320GBHD\2GBRAM\W8DP
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 01-06-2010, 04:07 PM

you can download EasyBCD and remove the option totally..its free..get it here:

Download EasyBCD 1.7.2 - NeoSmart Technologies

or if you are comfortable in the editor you can edit the boot.ini file and remove it there also and never see it again...just make sure you remove the right one....EasyBCD is menu driven and easier to use...your call...


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Nickob Nickob is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default Thanks again - 01-06-2010, 04:36 PM

I'm looking forward to having a go at these fixes. Thank you very much, folks!

Nick
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 01-06-2010, 06:41 PM

EasyBCD does not control the XP boot menu - it is for the Vista/Win7 style only.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 01-06-2010, 08:31 PM

sorry, but it can be used for Windows XP, there are instructions on how to use it for XP, also I have it on my XP system and have used it to remove unwanted entries on my system..I have version 1.7.2, but in general it was designed to handle the Vista Boot loader files


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
Thorsteenster Thorsteenster is offline
Expert Member
 
Posts: 510
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 01-07-2010, 12:17 AM

Why do all that when you can just uncheck a single box? It's eating what in the boot.ini, maybe a few KB.......


C:\M11xR2\320GBHD\4GBRAM\W7HP
D:\duo\320GBHD\2GBRAM\W8DP
Reply With Quote
Reply

« looking to buy a mini 10 | Mini 10 - Random crashes after installing ubuntu 9.04 »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.