Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Default SD Card/MicroSD and Main HDD/SDD - 12-31-2009, 01:44 AM

OK guys I've had a browse of similar threads but haven't found the answer I'm looking for. Basically I'm new to using external drives/SD cards. Basically only ever used the one drive then a usb stick carrying photos/documents.

So i've got 16gb SSD as main drive. I'm running Ubuntu 9.10. I'm new to Linux being an ex-windows user. I'm hoping to install Windows and OSX on the machine in time. Those will squeeze onto the SSD but then leave with me no space for much else.

Can I then keep a 16gb SD card in the machine and then install apps to it without hitch in speed and accessibility? Or should i contemplate NOT installing one of the other two OS's and keep enough GB of SSD space for my main apps and then use the SD card for documents and multimedia??

What do you guys think? I'm trying to avoid buying a larger SSD.
  (#2) Old
Expert Member

Default 12-31-2009, 01:58 AM

I don't know about the apps, I guess some will run fine. There was the whole PITA jump drive feature that allowed running of some apps from them.
I have to scoff at 3 OS's on a 16GB drive though, I'd say forget about the SD and get at least a 32GB SSD, or 64GB if you can swing it and not worry about what will or won't run from an SD card, and not having to constantly fiddle with OS's running out of drive space.

C:\M11xR2\320GBHD\4GBRAM\W7HP
D:\duo\320GBHD\2GBRAM\W8DP
  (#3) Old

Default 12-31-2009, 02:27 AM

I just can't stretch to buying another SSD right now. I think that I'll learn Ubuntu, install Windows 7 and see how i get on from there. If I want Snow Leopard on too then I'll add a 32gb SSD and hope I find a buyer for the 16gb SSD!!