Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
cali_greens cali_greens is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default new SSID....what now?!? - 12-08-2009, 12:10 AM

Hey Guys,

Just purchased a dell mini 9 hackintosh with 10.5.6 loaded on

It seems as if this 8GB SSID just isnt going to cut it. Ill be purchasing a 16 or 32gb SSID here within the next week or so. Just wondering once I swap out the SSID's what will be needed to restore it back to a fully operational hackintosh? Links and instructions are much appreciated...

I did some searching but could not find anything regarding starting from scratch with no present OS on the new SSID

feel free to PM or email to

Thanks and I really appreciate the help, this is my GF's XMAS present so im hoping to have it all squared away here soon.

-Justin
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 12-08-2009, 12:22 AM

First, that's an SSD, not SSID. In this forum we do not look kindly on people who sell Minis with OS X preloaded - in fact, advertising such here is good for an immediate ban. As you may gather, those who buy such things are frowned upon as well.

We have a rather large OS X section with guides for installation from scratch. However, it sounds as if you simply want to clone the SSDs, which you can do using the OS X backup software.

I hope that you have (or will) purchased a retail copy of the OS X DVD and are not relying on an illegal copy.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
cali_greens cali_greens is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 12-08-2009, 12:40 AM

holmes, thank you for the prompt reply.

I apologize for the typo regarding the SSD

the mini 9 was purchased from a co-worker who purchased the original OS disks from apple. After loading it onto the mini 9 he decided the mini 9 was just not for him. He kindly sold it it to me. Once again I apologize if this is frowned upon as well....i am still working on broadening my very limited tech skills.

If I were to swap the SSD's it would be as simple as cloning my current OSX onto a backup drive and then reloading onto the new SSD? Would I need to change anything in the bios before reloading?

Thanks again for all the help

I will be going to the apple store later this week to purchase a new copy of 10.6 as well

I to do not condone pirated software
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 12-08-2009, 01:27 AM

No BIOS changes would be needed. A simple backup and restore should suffice.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
cali_greens cali_greens is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 12-08-2009, 01:30 AM

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 12-08-2009, 04:13 PM

Don't forget to wipe out your original drive b 4 u sell it, unless of course you wanna keep it as a backup..

PS: Welcome to the forum

Oh by the way on a side note "SSID" is used on routers as a "Service Set IDentifier", usually just the name of your network such as My Router or My Office..etc. thats probably where you have seen it b 4


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
cali_greens cali_greens is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 12-09-2009, 01:30 AM

thanks for the advice

i work in tech support for a GPS company and all our devices have SSID'S Serial silicone something something so i think thats why i mixed up the two....i have definitely seen it on my router though as well
Reply With Quote
Reply

« dell mini 9 | how to reinstall xp from USB drive »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.