Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
hacken hacken is offline
Member
 
Posts: 81
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Default kingston or crucial 2gig memory? - 12-09-2008, 04:18 AM

okay first of all i want to start of by saying that "i am new here and new to this Dell mini 9". my question here is which 2gig memory is better for the mini 9 and which you perfer.

crucial 2gig memory or the kingston. i hear both are good and i know kingston been around a bit but this is my first time hearing about crucial products.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
Fallstar Fallstar is offline
Senior Member
 
Fallstar's Avatar
 
Posts: 384
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Default Re: kingston or crucial 2gig memory? - 12-09-2008, 04:26 AM

I went with Crucial, mainly because I've used them in other systems, and have had no problems with them. I also like the search feature on their site, plug in your system make/model, and they offer up compatible options. When I ordered the RAM for my Mini, I also ordered a 2 GB kit for my Inspiron 6000, since the price was good. I've not used Kingston, but I do have a Kingston flash drive which works great (not sure if it's the same company).
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
thedinks thedinks is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Re: kingston or crucial 2gig memory? - 12-09-2008, 09:15 AM

I went with crucial too, and I also like the search function :-)


Mini 9 Vista full 2gb 32gb SSD 16gb SDHC
XPS M1730 Blue 2.6 Dual 8800gtx 500gb Raid 0 Bluray
XPS M1530 Bubblegum Pink 2.4 8600gt (the wifes)
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
hacken hacken is offline
Member
 
Posts: 81
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Default Re: kingston or crucial 2gig memory? - 12-09-2008, 03:43 PM

i wish mine look something more like this. thanks guy, i probably go with crucial and give it a try.

Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
UnaClocker UnaClocker is offline
Guru
 
Posts: 1,744
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Olalla, WA
Send a message via AIM to UnaClocker Send a message via Yahoo to UnaClocker
Default Re: kingston or crucial 2gig memory? - 12-10-2008, 05:26 AM

Crucial has been around a long long time. They used to be part of Micron, who was a big name PC maker like Dell. They've actually been around 9 years longer than Kingston (1978 vs 1987).. Both are top tier reliable memory makers.


Tired of wondering if your Mini9 is doing ANYTHING? - Add a HDD Activity LED
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
norrisg norrisg is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 130
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Re: kingston or crucial 2gig memory? - 12-10-2008, 04:55 PM

Kingston are a reputable brand, but both times I've tried to use their memory, in notebook computers, it hasn't worked. I've never had a problem with Crucial in any machine, notebook or desktop, but currently have OCZ in my Mini 9.


Black Mini 9 2GB/64GB - XP
White Mini 9 2GB/4GB - UNR 9.10
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
oobe oobe is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 17
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default Re: kingston or crucial 2gig memory? - 12-10-2008, 11:32 PM

i use Super Talent in my mini9 and my thinkpad T61. They have micron chips and lifetime warranty - perform better than most "name brand" memory and cost 18$ for a 2gb stick.
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default Re: kingston or crucial 2gig memory? - 12-12-2008, 10:33 PM

I put Kingston RAM in my mini and it works fine.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

« 32gb Stock SSD - Windows | Help me get my mini ubunto on the internet! »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.