Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
jdcnosse jdcnosse is offline
Senior Member
 
jdcnosse's Avatar
 
Posts: 157
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Michigan
Send a message via AIM to jdcnosse Send a message via MSN to jdcnosse Send a message via Yahoo to jdcnosse
Default upgrade traditional HDD to SSD - 10-28-2009, 07:19 PM

If I bought a Dell Mini 10v with a 160GB traditional SATA HDD, would I still be able to upgrade it to a SSD (say from RunCore )
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
Thorsteenster Thorsteenster is offline
Expert Member
 
Posts: 510
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 10-28-2009, 07:55 PM

Yes, but you need a standard SATA SSD, non of this SATA PATA PCI-e stuff like the 9.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
jdcnosse jdcnosse is offline
Senior Member
 
jdcnosse's Avatar
 
Posts: 157
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Michigan
Send a message via AIM to jdcnosse Send a message via MSN to jdcnosse Send a message via Yahoo to jdcnosse
Default 10-28-2009, 08:15 PM

okay good. I knew the 10v's used regular laptop HDDs...I thought I read somewhere that the SSDs might have been different or something...I dunno lol
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
dvsman dvsman is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Default 10-28-2009, 08:48 PM

I have a Samsung 256gb SSD currently installed in my 10v for testing. Just swapped it in for the stock 160gb I pulled out. The netbook is heavily limited by the CPU & chipset so performance isn't as awesome as if the drive were attached to a desktop or fullsize laptop PC but it definitely is an improvement.


---
10v: n280, 2gb ram, 10" 1024x600, 1510 wireless N, Samsung 256gb SSD, 3 cell, Win7
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Dragonx Dragonx is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 22
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 10-28-2009, 09:07 PM

Runcore sells a SATA SSD....
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Thorsteenster Thorsteenster is offline
Expert Member
 
Posts: 510
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 10-28-2009, 09:15 PM

I put a Super Talent 32GB drive I got from New Egg in my 1010, no problems in 6+ months I've had it.
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Montala Montala is offline
Super Moderator
 
Montala's Avatar
 
Posts: 871
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Herefordshire (U.K.)
Default 10-29-2009, 05:10 PM

I know that there is a lot of loyalty to RunCore drives on here, but personally I replaced my 'stock' 160GB SATA HDD with a 60GB Vertex SSD recently, with no problems at all. It was a direct 'swap'. (... and I did of course take the opportunity to increase the memory at the same time!)

Now I am sure a lot of users would regard this as a retrograde, or 'backward' step, but I was anxious to have a completely 'silent' Mini, with no moving parts), other than the Keyboard of course'!... and also to find out a bit more about these 'new fangled' devices... and you should see my performance Index scores now!


Mini 10v - Product (RED) - BIOS A06 - Ubuntu 11.04 - 2GB RAM - 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD - Bluetooth - Intel 6205 Wi-Fi - WWAN
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
MikePA MikePA is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 282
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 10-29-2009, 05:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Montala View Post
...but I was anxious to have a completely 'silent' Mini, with no moving parts),
I installed a 500 gig Scorpio Blue drive and while it does have moving parts, it is completely silent.


Mini 9 | 2 gigs memory | 64 gig SSD | 10.6.7
Mini 10v | 2 gigs memory | 500 gig HD | BT | 10.6.3 & Windows 7 Professional Dual Boot
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
Montala Montala is offline
Super Moderator
 
Montala's Avatar
 
Posts: 871
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Herefordshire (U.K.)
Default 10-29-2009, 05:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikePA View Post
I installed a 500 gig Scorpio Blue drive and while it does have moving parts, it is completely silent.
I am sure it was... but you know what I mean!


Mini 10v - Product (RED) - BIOS A06 - Ubuntu 11.04 - 2GB RAM - 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD - Bluetooth - Intel 6205 Wi-Fi - WWAN
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
MikePA MikePA is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 282
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 10-29-2009, 05:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Montala View Post
I am sure it was... but you know what I mean!
Yep.


Mini 9 | 2 gigs memory | 64 gig SSD | 10.6.7
Mini 10v | 2 gigs memory | 500 gig HD | BT | 10.6.3 & Windows 7 Professional Dual Boot
Reply With Quote
Reply

« wireless usb adapter with osx and ubantu | battery search on Dell Outlet »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.