Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#11) Old
rattrayc rattrayc is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern California
Default 12-15-2009, 06:10 AM

what's the point of the 667 FSB with the N280 if the ram is only supported @ 533?
Reply With Quote
  (#12) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 12-15-2009, 12:45 PM

It may be cheaper or more available. Another theory is that running faster-rated RAM at the lower speed will run cooler, though that may not always be true.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#13) Old
Aerax Aerax is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 26
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Default 12-16-2009, 05:46 AM

The ram on the 10v isn't limited to 533mhz... it does support 800MHz.


Dell ProSupport Technician 2004-Present
Reply With Quote
  (#14) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 12-16-2009, 03:03 PM

I believe that 800mhz is supported but the Intel processor will only allow it to run up to 533mhz..667mhz is supported also but again the Intel Processor limits it to 533mhz this is according to what I have read here in other threads


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#15) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 12-16-2009, 06:00 PM

It's the chipset, not the processor, that sets the limit.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#16) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 12-16-2009, 06:07 PM

I stand corrected...thank you Holmes..
I was close...I knew it was either or


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#17) Old
dchavoc dchavoc is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NorCal
Default 01-05-2010, 09:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by holmes4 View Post
Wrong chipset. We have the 945GSE. Section 1.5 indicates that it supports the same features as the 945GMS with the exception of TV Out. If you look at section 1.4.2, for the 945GMS, you'll see (emphasis mine):
Quote:
System Memory Support
• Supports single-channel DDR2 SDRAM only
Maximum Memory supported 2 GB
• Memory Channel Topologies supported:
— Single-channel with 1 SO-DIMM only (up to 1 GB)
— Single-channel with 1 SO-DIMM (up to 1 GB) and Memory Down (up to 1 GB)
• Support for DDR2 at 400 MHz and 533 MHz
So what I gleam from this is that the max it (10v) will run is 2GB. (true?)

What does the "— Single-channel with 1 SO-DIMM (up to 1 GB) and Memory Down (up to 1 GB)" mean??

Thanks

-n00b
Reply With Quote
  (#18) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 01-06-2010, 12:57 AM

Correct - 2GB max. To be honest, I am not sure what is being referred to by that line.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#19) Old
dchavoc dchavoc is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NorCal
Default 01-07-2010, 05:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by holmes4 View Post
Correct - 2GB max. To be honest, I am not sure what is being referred to by that line.
Thanks.

I've got to find a good deal on a 2GB stick then...I think I've got a line on a Dell Service tech that might tear down my Mini and install the ram for me...too many little wires, clips, etc...

We had two of our E6500's get there LCD's replaced here at the office and he thought one of his fellow techs would be interested in making a little scratch on the side.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
memory, memory upgrade, ram, ram upgrade, upgrade

« Mini 10 - Random crashes after installing ubuntu 9.04 | New Owner Old Issues »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.