Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Default OS Options/Expandable Memory? WHAT?! - 09-07-2009, 04:43 PM

I figured my title would be more catchy rather than "New noob here!"

Anyways, just ordered a 10v with the 6-cell battery. I looked at the 10 for $450 and 40gb more HD space, and 2GB ram didn't seem worth the extra cash, especially when I can just upgrade the RAM.

I've been lurking around this forum the past week and I've come up with some quick questiosn to ask.

~What benefit is there to using Windows 7 Rather than XP? Also doesn't the 7 license run out shortly?

~OSX seems to be pretty popular, however for web page editing that I'm used too doing in IE, would it be similar in Safari? Also, the last time I read an article on using OSX, there seemed to be issues as far as the touchpad was concerned, is this fixed?

~I'm pretty good with taking electronics apart, however I am concerned about plastic bits in the Mini that may snap while getting to the RAM. Is this something to be concerned about or is it pretty rugged inside?

Overall I'll just be using my Mini for web browsing, typing articles and possibly using 3Ds Max to create low-polygon objects while I'm on the go. (3Ds Max always worked well on older laptops especially with less-detailed objects in the scene, the last laptop I used 3Ds Max on was in comparasin, nearly half the speed.

I definately look forward to getting this machine. I have a really nice home computer with a 22 inch wide lcd, and I can't really take it on the go to write articles. My 17 inch HP dvwhatever laptop is too big to bring around, so I just wanted something smaller, like lugging around a big book rather than a big metal suitcase :P

EDIT: Also not sure why Dell says I'll receive my Mini on/after the 22nd. Considering I ordered this last week that seems a bit long...
  (#2) Old
Administrator