Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

(#1) Old

Default Some Varying Beginner 10v Questions.. - 09-03-2009, 12:31 PM

Hi all and I'm welcoming myself to the forum

I have some questions that I'd very much like your help on. I've taken delivery of my 10v with the 160gb HD and Ubuntu installed. It's my first time using Linux and I actually quite like it. So now I'd like to know..

1) Can you recommend a good slip case for the 10v? I don't plan on getting the 6 cell battery yet, and I'm looking for something that's more of a protective cover than actual case. Something low cost, waterproof, light, slim and quick to drop the 10v in and out of.

2) What's the concensus with upgrading from Heron? Is it worth it yet? The reason I ask is I want to use the trackpad drivers that have been developed but they don't seem to be available for Heron, only the later releases of Ubuntu. (Saying that, I can't figure out how to install the bloody things anyway, that particular part of using Linux is very confusing).

3) I don't have bluetooth on my machine and would like to use the internet on the move, occassionally. I have free data with my mobile/cell phone provider, is there a way of taking advantage of this?

4) Annoyingly, my keyboard has sans serif keys except for the letter I. Does anyone else have this, and can it be replaced?

5) If I decide not to keep Linux then I'll go for a Leopard/Win 7 dual boot. Where can I find a recommended way of partitioning the hard drive? And presumably it's best to wipe the machine clean first, then install one OS before the other? I have a 16gb USB stick and an XP desktop to assist my install.

Thank you very much and I hope these questions aren't tedious at all - I like my 10v very, very much.

All the best to you,

schnide
  (#2) Old
Super Moderator

Default 09-03-2009, 01:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by schnide View Post