Beginners Questions New to the community? Make your first post here. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
yoshiki2 yoshiki2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default what kind of memory ram should i buy for a mini 9? - 08-02-2009, 05:18 AM

any especial kind? can i buy 2 of 2 gigabytes so i can get 4 gigabytes? thx
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
dch dch is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 135
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Default 08-02-2009, 05:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoshiki2 View Post
any especial kind? can i buy 2 of 2 gigabytes so i can get 4 gigabytes? thx
2 of 2 gigabytes equals 4 gigabytes yes, your math is correct.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
deadrabbit deadrabbit is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 08-02-2009, 05:57 AM

I don't think any of the Atom motherboards support more than 2GB, so 4GB wouldn't be any good. As for type, according to Crucial's memory advisor:

"Each memory slot can hold DDR2 PC2-6400,DDR2 PC2-5300 with a maximum of 2GB per slot.* "
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
yoshiki2 yoshiki2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 08-02-2009, 06:08 AM

any links to buy some of them? any of this would work, right?
Newegg.com - Computer Hardware,Memory,Laptop Memory,200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM
Type : 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM
do I need 2 of 1 gigabyte, or can I buy 1 of 2 gigabytes? thx
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
vickoxy vickoxy is offline
Senior Member
 
vickoxy's Avatar
 
Posts: 202
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vienna, Austria
Default 08-02-2009, 07:22 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadrabbit View Post
I don't think any of the Atom motherboards support more than 2GB, so 4GB wouldn't be any good. As for type, according to Crucial's memory advisor:

"Each memory slot can hold DDR2 PC2-6400,DDR2 PC2-5300 with a maximum of 2GB per slot.* "
Buy 2GB-i did it and it is definitely faster. More ist not supported. Make no difference if you take PC2-6400 or PC2-5300.
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
reflex reflex is offline
Guru
 
reflex's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,997
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 08-02-2009, 11:44 AM

Most full size laptops have 2 memory slots, but the Mini 9 has a single laptop DDR2 slot (200pin). So, you can't use 2 RAM modules. I've never heard of someone getting a 4GiB module to work, so 2GiB is the max.

As for speed, PC2-4200/533MHz is the highest speed the RAM will run at in the Mini 9, but faster RAM will work. For example, my Mini 9 came with 512MiB of PC2-6400/800MHz and I upgraded to 2GiB of PC2-5300/667Mhz.


Mini 9 | Intel 5100 Wifi | Ubuntu 10.04 Netbook
Mini 1012 | SSD | Intel 6200 Wifi | Ubuntu 11.10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
thrill5one6 thrill5one6 is offline
Member
 
thrill5one6's Avatar
 
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NY
Default 08-05-2009, 09:13 PM



Obsidian Black Mini 9 | 2GB Kingston RAM | 32GB RunCore SSD | 1.3mp Webcam | Transcend 16GB SDHC | Kawau Micro SD Card Reader | Polaroid 16GB Micro SDHC | Windows XP | Ridic Graphics Skin | Logitech V450 Nano
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
ish05 ish05 is offline
Member
 
ish05's Avatar
 
Posts: 91
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 08-06-2009, 06:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by thrill5one6 View Post
I see you also left a review of it working on your mini9. Nice.


Dell Mini Inspiron 910 32GB RunCore SSD, 2GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate
Dell Inspiron 1720 2x 1TB HDD, 4GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate
https://www.facebook.com/pinto.ismael
http://gplus.to/ismaelpinto
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Replacing memory and ssd. how to install OS? | Connecting to the Internet »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.