3G Mobile Broadband Discussion Discussion on 3G Mobile Broadband Packages

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
zrtom zrtom is offline
Senior Member
zrtom's Avatar
Posts: 360
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adirondack Mountains
Default Using one SIM card in two different Broadband Cards?? - 03-08-2009, 01:56 AM

Here's a question for anyone who has used one SIM card with multiple broadband cards (i.e., different computers).....
I have the Dell factory AT&T Mobile Broadband card in my M1330 (Novatel Expedite EU860D Mini Card).
I have a Mini 9 (still unopened) with an AT&T Mobile Broadband card.
Has anyone tried using the SIM card associated with one Mobile Broadband card with a different computer/broadband card?
A Dell broadband specialist tells me that it won't work because my account matches my SIM to the broadband card's IMEI.
I've swapped my cell phone's SIM to other phones successfully but maybe broadband cards are different???
It would help knowing before I open the computer because if it won't work, I'll probably sell the Mini 9 with the AT&T card.
Thanks in advance for any ideas.

XPS 420|XPS 420|M1330: Windows 7 x64, Windows 8-8102
M1330: Quad boot: Windows 7 x64, XP Pro x64, Ubuntu, Media Direct
Mini 9: Black, 2GB, 1.3MP Cam, BT, Runcore 32, Windows 7
Mini 10: Black, Z530, Intel 5100 WiFi, OCZ Vertex SSD, XP Pro & Windows 7 (sold)
Mini10v: 2GB, OCZ Vertex, Intel 5100, Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
pr6srm pr6srm is offline
Posts: 95
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default Re: Using one SIM card in two different Broadband Cards?? - 03-08-2009, 11:53 AM

I've used one SIM across two Vodafone (Verizon) 3G modems (the one in my Mini and an external one) before with no problems...

It's a pain in the arse to track your data usage though

Dell Mini 9: Obsidian Black | A05 | Win7 / OS X 10.5.6 Dual Boot | DellEFI 1.1 | 2GB RAM | 64GB RunCore 70mm SSD | 4GB SDHC | Vodafone HSPA | 0.3mP webcam
Dell Mini 9: Obsidian Black | as above except: XP Pro SP3 | 250GB USB HDD
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
DanielN DanielN is offline
Senior Member
DanielN's Avatar
Posts: 159
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Re: Using one SIM card in two different Broadband Cards?? - 03-09-2009, 05:01 AM

There's no difference. I swap my SIM from my Sierra Wireless 881 PCCard to my Dell mini's 5530 all the time.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
neg2led neg2led is offline
Junior Member
neg2led's Avatar
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default Re: Using one SIM card in two different Broadband Cards?? - 04-18-2009, 06:00 AM

You can even use one of those "2 sims in one card" things (With the switching turned off) to avoid having to move the card around physically - just make sure you don't have them both turned on at once!


Vodafone AU Dell Mini 9 / 5530 WWAN / X.6.2 (NBI 0.8.3) / 1Gb RAM / 16G SSD / Bluetooth / White.
Reply With Quote

« Anyone try WMwifiRouter? | Vodafone 3G s-l-o-w! »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.