3G Mobile Broadband Discussion Discussion on 3G Mobile Broadband Packages

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
ukbodypilot ukbodypilot is offline
Member
 
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default New firmware to 7.2Mb - 03-04-2009, 04:38 AM

Check the dell site there is new firmware that upgrades the card to 7.2Mb.

:-)

Now I just need to find a 3G tower to test it!!!
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
DanielN DanielN is offline
Senior Member
 
DanielN's Avatar
 
Posts: 159
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Re: New firmware to 7.2Mb - 03-04-2009, 05:41 AM

This is for the Dell AT&T 5530 card.

Direct download link: http://ftp.us.dell.com/comm/Dell_Wirele ... 212325.exe

"This FW upgrades the D5530 (P/N XX982) to support 7.2Mbps download speeds."

Unfortunately AT&T US Towers are not operating at this speed at this time.

ETA: *Except in Chicago: http://www.phonescoop.com/news/item.php?n=3743
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
37fox 37fox is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default Re: New firmware to 7.2Mb - 03-05-2009, 02:23 PM

Does anyone know where to get firmware for the Sierra MC8775? It's OEM from another vendor, and sierra doesn't list firmware on their site for it. I'm hoping the 7.2Mb update will be available. Not that AT&T can sustain more than 100kbs in the NY metro area anyway....
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
DanielN DanielN is offline
Senior Member
 
DanielN's Avatar
 
Posts: 159
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Re: New firmware to 7.2Mb - 03-05-2009, 06:02 PM

Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
ukbodypilot ukbodypilot is offline
Member
 
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default Re: New firmware to 7.2Mb - 03-06-2009, 05:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielN
This is for the Dell AT&T 5530 card.

Direct download link: http://ftp.us.dell.com/comm/Dell_Wirele ... 212325.exe

"This FW upgrades the D5530 (P/N XX982) to support 7.2Mbps download speeds."

Unfortunately AT&T US Towers are not operating at this speed at this time.

ETA: *Except in Chicago: http://www.phonescoop.com/news/item.php?n=3743
Just read the news article linked above - it seems like only recent that I was delighted with a 14.4k modem at home let alone when I got 14.4k on a cell connection. Soon my cell will have 14.4Mb!~!
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
ZeroKuhl ZeroKuhl is offline
Member
 
Posts: 63
Join Date: Sep 2009
Lightbulb 05-03-2010, 04:59 PM

It is possible to patch the firmware so you can also install on KM266.
I update my Dell 5530 from R1A034 frimware to R1D06 and....

It is still working without problems.
If anybody want some information, please feel free to wright a comment.

Regards Zero
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Ciuraz Ciuraz is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 05-10-2010, 02:44 PM

Hi ZeroKuhl,

please, share your secret how to flash new firmware.

Tom
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
ZeroKuhl ZeroKuhl is offline
Member
 
Posts: 63
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default 05-10-2010, 06:36 PM

Hello Ciuraz,

at first: It is a risk to flash firmware especially a patched firmware. So be warned that you can loss all functionality.

I have a KM266 - KRD 131 14/103 R1G with R1A034. I made a small patch within the original firmware file from Dell. You can find the mod in this thread: http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/dell...tml#post151664

How to do:
There is a list within the file for which hardware and firmware version this file works. Only thing to do is, change it to the things you need. If you download the modded file from my thread and compare it to the original one from Dell you will see it is really easy.

There was also a user with the nickname robert who asked for the firmware. I don't know if he already tried it and everything was ok. Hi robert, maybe you can enlight us.

I only can say that it was working for me with my hardware and firmware version. I can also try to make a another version for different hardware and firmware version. But this is really a big risk. If you want.... it's on your own risk!!!!

There also one thing else to mention - the update was working for me only under Windows XP. Within Windows 7 the update file can not recognize the modul. So you have to change the OS if you are on Windows 7.

All in all the firmware is really better then R1A034. It is more stable and also with the driver in the my thread it is now working really good.

Regards Zero

PS: One little question - are you a lenovo user?
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
Ciuraz Ciuraz is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 05-11-2010, 07:29 AM

Hi Zero,

I have problems with D5530 card in Win 7, installed all drivers from your thread, but no luck, in device manager everythink is ok but wireles manager (ericsson too) don`t see card, and i can`t connect to wwan and gps
i dont know what else try.
my OS win7, in future i`l will flash firmware.

sorry for my english.

p.s. my home laptop is dell mini 1010, and office laptop IBM T60, why you asking?

regards,
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
ZeroKuhl ZeroKuhl is offline
Member
 
Posts: 63
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default 05-11-2010, 06:45 PM

Hi Ciuraz,

For WWAN it is very easy. If you see near the clock you will see 5 strips.
Just have a look here. There you can connect to your provider. If you have a different APN make a right click at the provider and click settings. There you also can change the APN.
For GPS you have take a look under settings --> hardware --> sensors.
There you can activate the gps port.
Under clear sky with google earth you will soon get a link.

As I descibed for updating the firmware you need Win XP. Win 7 is NOT working!

Regards Zero

PS: About lenovo - you had only 1 post. And the lenovo user don't get a firmware update file. So I tried...
Reply With Quote
Reply

« WWAN 5530 problem | - »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.